Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Forklift accident?

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by TSGB, Mar 5, 2007.

1. TSGB

TSGB 1 ton status

Wondering if anyone has ever been involved in one, either driving, or bystander? Injury, serious loss of property?

2. newyorkin

newyorkin 1 ton status

I've seen interesting things happen when a person drives one of these without brakes, and forks instead of a bucket...
    [​IMG]

But it was in a junkyard, so the damage usually went unnoticed...

As an occasional driver, I may have had some accidents in it, too.

3. smalltruckbigcid

smalltruckbigcid 1/2 ton status

Several years ago a shift supervisor at Arctic Cat had his foot run over. Completely crushed it, amputation was the only option. This was a small inside lift, capacity of about 3000lbs.
    George

4. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

I have not seen one major in person. I did have a guy in my old shop put the blade of a 8K rated Hyster (indoor lift) through a 5" thick concrete tiltup wall. I didn't see it but at my old constuction company a guy had his work truck smashed by an extending boom (gradall, lull) style forklift. The boom came down right across the passenger comparment and crushed the truck. Thankfully nobody was inside otherwise they would have been killed.

Harley

5. thedrip

thedrip 1/2 ton status

I may or may not have run the forks through some spendy merchandise at home depot when I worked there. Nothing major, no danger to anyone, just switching between two styles of machines, and they steer opposite each other

6. bigbluesuburban

bigbluesuburban 1/2 ton status