Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Free CAD program - Alibre Design?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Fubeca, Oct 17, 2006.

1. Fubeca

Fubeca 1/2 ton status

Hi - I just started playing with this - it seems pretty nice for a free version!

Anyone have any experience with it?

http://www.alibre.com/products/

Here's a screenshot of a drawing I made from their tutorial last night.

Screen.JPG

2. Fubeca

Fubeca 1/2 ton status

And - the headache rack I'm going to build for my truck.

Headache Rack.JPG

3. 1979jimmy350

1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

that looks pretty cool, looks a lot like solid works. What is the file type that it uses?

4. Fubeca

Fubeca 1/2 ton status

Not sure - the file names end with .AD_PRT and .AD_ASM for parts and assemblies. I think you can export to other file types. I really don't know anything about any of the packages available today (I haven't done any drawing since 1993 :o ). I was just looking for something to help me draw out what I wanted to build.

5. Muddytazz

Muddytazz 1 ton status

Email me one of the drawings you have done and I'll see if I can import them into some of my cad proggies

6. Muddytazz

Muddytazz 1 ton status

Mark emailed me 2 file types of the same drawing. One was a prt and the other was an igs. IGS files worked in all of my different cad/cam programs that I work with. Its a pretty universal cad/cam file type. As for the prt one, I believe it is program specific as I could not get it to work on anything.

7. 1979jimmy350

1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

cool as soon as my computer gets working again i think i am going to have to try this software out

8. bigbluesuburban

bigbluesuburban 1/2 ton status