Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Freeze plug 74 blazer

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BigBugga, Dec 6, 2005.

  1. BigBugga

    BigBugga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rancho cordova
    Hello, how hard is it to change a rear freeze plug on a 350 in a 74 blazer??
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,169
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    It's easy...as long as the motor ain't in the truck. :crazy:

    Rene
     
  3. DEMON44

    DEMON44 Low-Tech Redneck

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Posts:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Okotoks, Alberta
    Seconded.
     
  4. BigBugga

    BigBugga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rancho cordova
    freeze plug

    Cm'on guys can I do this by just pulling the tranny??
     
  5. DEMON44

    DEMON44 Low-Tech Redneck

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Posts:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Okotoks, Alberta
    The firewall will be a pain in your ass. I'm not sayin you can't do it, but I can pull my engine just as fast as I can drop the tranny/ t-case. Thats just my opinion though.
     
  6. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,169
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    The only time I had to replace freeze plugs was on an old '68 Polara. One was leaking...and I had to pull the motor to get at it. Found out the remaining plugs were almost in as bad a condition so with the engine out of the car I easily removed all the freeze plugs, flushed the block of all the scale and hammered in all new freeze plugs.

    It was a one day job. Usually it's never just one bad freeze plug. They're all usually in the same shape.

    Rene
     
  7. BigBugga

    BigBugga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rancho cordova
    Thanks Demon!!:D
     
  8. BigBugga

    BigBugga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rancho cordova
    I am going to trade some work for a 74' blazer motor from 70' it runs good just the issue with the freeze plugs,I'm just hoping Its worth it getting the rig for 1,000 bucks in labor interior is shot but motor seems ok as does the trans,also has brand new 4" rancho lift with shocks no serious rust, any input????
     
  9. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,169
    Likes Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Sounds pretty fair to me. The full convertable is a lot harder to find than the half cab versions...especially if it doesn't have much rust.

    Rene
     
  10. DEMON44

    DEMON44 Low-Tech Redneck

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Posts:
    7,232
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Okotoks, Alberta
    .....but I can also pull a 3406B CAT out of a longnose Kenworth in under 8 hours too :D
     
  11. BigBugga

    BigBugga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    rancho cordova
    Thanks fellas! gotta put my son to bed know.

    ciao.
     

Share This Page