Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

????? from a 4L60E to a 4L80E

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by BILLY RAY, Jan 20, 2003.

  1. BILLY RAY

    BILLY RAY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Posts:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx.
    What would it take to replace my 4L60E trans. with a 4L80E in my 94 Chevy Sub. C1500? Is the E.C.U. the same? Are the pin connections the same what what what????????? Just something I have been thinking about. Getting my wife a new Sub. and using the old one for a tow rig after I add the Vortec heads to it. /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  2. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area
    Well, I'm speculating.....the harness "should be the same". The chip would have to be changed (as a minimum) in the computer as the programming is different with the 4L80E.
     
  3. Sledge

    Sledge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    The harness is different. The main "big round plug" is physically the same (but I think some of the pins are used by one tranny and not the other), but the 4L80E has an extra 2-pin speed sensor.

    I have one of the TCI stand-alone controllers which will run either the 60E or 80E and there is some differences in the way you have to wire it up based on the tranny you want to control.

    If you want I can dig out the wiring diagrams rather than trying to do this from memory. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  4. BILLY RAY

    BILLY RAY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Posts:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx.
    Man if you could scan them and e-mail them or fax them that would help (512-406-7516) att. BILLY RAY fax number. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    Anyone else have any info in this? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  5. Butch

    Butch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2000
    Posts:
    1,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Just take your 400 and put it in the sub and put the 4l60E in you Kuggy. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     
  6. BILLY RAY

    BILLY RAY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Posts:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx.
    Man sometimes this site needs that double flip off sign from that other form. /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  7. Sledge

    Sledge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    I don't have a scanner or FAX, but I'll see what I can dig up. If nothing else I can type up the how the signals are mapped to the connector for the 60E and 80E.

    If ya don't hear from me by the weekend, just PM me and give me a kick in the butt. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     

Share This Page