Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Front Break Mounts on 14ff?

Discussion in 'Pacific Region' started by DuneRunner, Dec 16, 2002.

  1. DuneRunner

    DuneRunner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Do you think that you could use 3/4 ton front mounts on the rear with a little fab work? (I have seen one pic on the net of it)

    In theory if you welded the 6 holes on the front Break mounts where they attach to the knuckles. And then drilled 4 new holes for the mounting to the rear housing and use a 13/16" spacers.
    That it would work? You would then have a built in dust shield. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif (taking a break at work)
     
  2. DuneRunner

    DuneRunner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    This is what I'm taling about! /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif
     
  3. CRAWLIN70

    CRAWLIN70 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Posts:
    349
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ESCALON CA.
    that looks just like the setup from offroad unlimited. thats the set i have on my 73. they are way to much money. 1400 bucks for the setup with the e-brake but then again when i bought them 4 years ago they were the only ones that made them /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif i have a buddie that did what you are talking aboput and his works fine.

    /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif
     
  4. DuneRunner

    DuneRunner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Thanks for the knowladge. WOW! Must of hurt the bank a little. Like you said they were the only ones at the time.

    Who's going Junk Yard Shopping? ME... /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  5. SAVAGE1

    SAVAGE1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Posts:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BAY AREA, CA
    I know of a couple local guys who've done the same. Their trucks run the Rubicon and are daily drivers, so far no probs. Also check outAlaska Offroad's site, lots of great tech there:


    [​IMG]
     
  6. DuneRunner

    DuneRunner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    ROD THANKS!!!! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

    Can't wait to get another set of mounts!!!

    (the motor will be here soon)
     
  7. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    Hmm....All that is is a 3/4 ton front caliper bracket welded/bolted to the 14 bolt flange? What/where does the 13/16" spacer go? So all I have to do is get some front caliper brackets, rotor ect and this spacer thing, and I've got disc brakes for my 14? Damn....I can get all that stuff basically free....Hmmmmm /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  8. DuneRunner

    DuneRunner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    Hook a Brotha UP! (please)

    with the spacer thats all I need. You can cut that stuff at work can't you? and drill it as well?

    [image]http://groups.msn.com/Ryans1972Blazer/newpictures.msnw?action=ShowPhoto&PhotoID=629[/image]

    Dear Santa, All I want for Christmas is for Joe to make me 2 spacer out of 13/16"s inch steel. and thats it. I've been good this year.... /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

    Later, KEN
     
  9. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
  10. SAVAGE1

    SAVAGE1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 22, 2000
    Posts:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BAY AREA, CA
    You don't need a spacer for the setup I posted. All you need is front caliper bracket, I think any 1/2 or 3/4 ton bracket would work, even a 10 bolt (do some research to make sure, don't quote me /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif) So you need the bracket, 3/4 ton calipers, rotors and attach them to the 14 bolt hub. Mount the hub/rotor assembly to the spindle and bolt it in place. Then you place the caliper on the rotor then bolt the bracket onto the caliper. Trim the bracket so it fits nice on the 14b flange. Now just simply weld it on, should be a perfect fit. The only thing I can see failing is the weld, so make sure your machine has enough juice... see Joe about that /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  11. DuneRunner

    DuneRunner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,252
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont CA
    HEY NOW! /forums/images/graemlins/mad.gif /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif

    By looking at the picture of the Alaska guy's it looks like they don't use a spacer. I think Rod your right! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  12. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    So the inner bearing and seal in a 3/4 ton rotor is the right size to fit the 14b spindle? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  13. Shaggy

    Shaggy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2000
    Posts:
    6,737
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Banos, CA
    <font color="green"> Inner bearing and seal... Wha? The rotor presses on to the hub via the wheel studs, there are no seals or anything in it, all of that stuff is housed in the hub itself. </font color>
     
  14. Zeus33rd

    Zeus33rd Smarter than you GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    7,324
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    Inner bearing and seal... Wha? The rotor presses on to the hub via the wheel studs, there are no seals or anything in it, all of that stuff is housed in the hub itself.


    [/ QUOTE ]

    After I thought about it for a few minutes, I realized how retarded what I said was. lol! I'm so used to seein front rotors with the hub attached to them, that in my retardedness thought that the seal and bearing were in the rotor....duh. I get it now. /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif /forums/images/graemlins/smirk.gif /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif
     

Share This Page