Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Front Dana 60 brakes

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by JeffHK5, May 11, 2005.

1. JeffHK5

JeffHK5 1/2 ton status

Looking to ditch the huge front swedg-lock style calipers on my GM dually 60. I'd like peoples opinions on who makes the best bracket for the money for putting 3/4 ton brake parts on my 1ton. I have seen names like "Cyberfire" and others whos work is highly reguarded and had hoped to draw them into this thread. If someone has a print/drawing of this bracket I'd pay a fee for a copy of it as I work in a shop with a lazer but don't feel like doing the R&D to get it right. I know, i'm lazy !
    Thanks Jeff

2. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

Being a dually 1 ton, do you really feel its best to ditch the bigger brake setup? I'm not a fan of the downgrade idea. Whats the problem with the wedge setup? I'm not its biggest fan but it works well if you use new hardware when doing a brake job.

3. JeffHK5

JeffHK5 1/2 ton status

Brakes

Well, I have done a poor job of explaining what I am doing. The dually 60 is in a 77 K5 with Hummer wheels so its not a tow rig its a beater. I have put it on a diet and front and rear 3/4 ton brakes will lose 100 lbs off the diffs! Does this make more sense ? Jeff

4. Nonesuch

Nonesuch 1/2 ton status

They work fine. F/R 3/4 ton disk's stop far better than the 1/2 ton axles your K5 once had. DO a search on pirate4x4.com if you want some educated info on the subject. Just get ready to weed out the 1000's of bitch fest post's.

5. K10ANDYKHAMNIC

K10ANDYKHAMNIC 1/2 ton status

I put 3/4 ton brakes on my ford d60 equipped k10 . works just swell . plus it was half the cost for the parts . ;)

6. Triaged

Triaged 1/2 ton status