Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Front drive shaft issues

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by JOEDEZZY, May 5, 2006.

1. JOEDEZZY

JOEDEZZY 1/2 ton status

Ok first off, I'm a newb so if this is a stupid question then well what do you expect. I just bought a 77 k5, put a engine into it, everything seems ok, but when i go into 4 high (what i think is 4 high, the gear shifter is pulled back as far as it will go) I hear a loud clunking noise, after looking under the vehicle while it moves, it looks like the drive shaft is getting into a bind and as the bind turns towards the top it breaks out of that bind and falls into another one, which is whats making the noise, when I crawl under the truck I can easily see the spline sticking out about 2-3 inches. I know the trucks been lifted but I dont know by how much, but its nothing crazy maybe 3-4 inches and I'm riding on 32 inch tires (dont know if that makes a difference). What do I need to do here to fix this, do I need a longer drive shaft and if so where do I get one?

2. JOEDEZZY

JOEDEZZY 1/2 ton status

Ok I pulled the drive shaft and the spline fell right out of the yoke, the splined section is really short (about 4-5 inches) and with the 2 inches that was already hanging out while it was on the truck makes me realize how close this thing was to falling out. I have also found out that my lift is 2 to 2.5 inches, so what do I need to do here?

3. rick88blaze

rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

It sounds like someone put too short of a shaft up front. I would either get that one lengthened or get a new one built to the right length. If you get the one you have lengthened you better go ahead and put new joints in it while you are at it. :D

Rick

4. JOEDEZZY

JOEDEZZY 1/2 ton status