Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Front Driveshaft Help

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by wforicv, Dec 24, 2004.

1. wforicv

wforicv 1/2 ton status

My front driveshaft is trashed on my '87 K5. Have searched all junkyards around my area with no luck. I am fairly new to all this and have been told that a shaft off of certain 1500 pickups will work. Is this true? I am in the process of finding a 60 for the front, so I do not want to spend $300.00 I was quoted by a local driveshaft fab shop. I would like to find a something less expensive to last for a while until I can get my hands on a 60. Any help will be appreciated.

2. spartan4x4

spartan4x4 Registered Member

I would think a k10 would have the same front shaft, it shares the same front leaf springs, axles, engine/tranny/tcase combo as a k5, so i'm 99.9% sure it would work. when you swap the 60 in the front you'll have to swap the slip yoke or get a conversion joint ($$). if you can get a good used shaft then you might end up money ahead just make sure the CV isn't shot and the slip & spline doesn't have alot of play.

3. Waxer

Waxer 1/2 ton status Author

A Stock Dana 60 uses the same Ujoint as a Dana 44.

4. jwduke

jwduke 1/2 ton status

I have one out of my '87 Chevy (With 75,000 miles on it), i'll sell you for $75+ the ride to your house.

5. wforicv

wforicv 1/2 ton status

Just talked to a friend who says he has one out of a k10 in good shape that will fit. I am going to check it out tomorrow afternoon. jwduke, I will get back with you if his will not work. You guys rule, thanks!

6. B_to_C

B_to_C 1/2 ton status Author

For my 90 K5 I used a front shaft off of a 1997 suburban. It was only $50 at the junkyard and works great :xmas:

7. 86gmcjimmy

86gmcjimmy Registered Member