Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Front winch bumpers, who has built their own?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84_Chevy_K10, Apr 13, 2004.

1. 84_Chevy_K10

84_Chevy_K10 Banned

Well, 55will renegged. After 6 months of waiting, he can't finish my bumper project.

So, I'm obviously left with a number of options, but at the cost of bumpers, I'm seriously considering builidng my own.

I'm far from an expert welder, but with practice I'm sure I can weld up a set of bumpers. For the longest time I've been meaning to buy myself a MIG welder, and if I choose to take this project on, I'll be the only one to blame if they take forever and I don't deliver them to myself in time.

I am basically just rambling here. Those of you that have built your own bumpers, pics would be helpful. I'm thinking that the rear will be pretty straight forward. A plate on each side to hook up to the frame, some square tube or channel, and a few beads and it should be good to go.

The front is definitely going to be more involved, the biggest issue in my mind is the winch. Being a 12,000 lb. winch it definitely has the capability to destroy the bumper if it's not strong enough.

That said, I'm open to suggestions. I need to get this crap done already. I'm tired of waiting for someone else to build them for me, and I'm so fed up that I want to build them myself.

2. Muddytazz

Muddytazz 1 ton status

Here is a pic of what i'm building for my dads burb /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

[​IMG]

The rear is going to be similar(without the winch plate recess area, but have a recessed license plate/step in the center.

3. 84gmcjimmy

84gmcjimmy 1 ton status