Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Front Windshield replacement?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by poinzey, Sep 7, 2004.

1. poinzey

poinzey 1/2 ton status

I'm trying to plan out replacing my front windshield soon and have a few Q's as I have never done a windshield before.

1) What parts do I need to buy new, if any? LMC lists only 2 pieces for the front, the rubber seal and the trim.

2) What other tools and supplies will I need? Eastwood Company shows a windshield removal kit. Do I need this to save the existing seal, or can I just make my own?

I'm not too worried about saving the old glass as its toast from a PO slamming the passenger seat into it at some point. Just not too sure what I will run into trying to get the old one out and new one in. Any advice and tips greatly appreciated, TIA! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

O, I did find a great link for a step by step walk through...
    Replacing a windshield

2. poinzey

poinzey 1/2 ton status

ttt
    Anyone on which parts I need to replace??? Is the main seal reuseable?

3. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

These trucks use a gasket around the window which can be re-used. The article you linked to explains how to remove a standard car windshield which is held in place by the urethane bead. The 73-87's don't use that bead of urethane, the gasket itself retains the windshield.

I just removed my windshield and did use that tool shown in the article. The previous installer ran a small bead on the inside of the gasket, and I'll probably do the same. A second set of hands would be a big bonus...I did crack my windshield taking it out. /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif

Rene

4. boggerless

boggerless 1 ton status Premium Member