Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Frustrated Newbie needs answers

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ncbloodhound, Feb 24, 2004.

1. ncbloodhound

ncbloodhound 1/2 ton status

Ok, I am new to K5s and vehicles so please bare with me.

I am trying to replace the spark plug wires on my 90 k5. I can't figure out how to get those stupid plastic clips off that hold the wires together without breaking them. /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif I have broken the ends off of everyone and can't get the wires out! /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif

I know changing the wires is supposed to be easy and I feel lame posting this question, but the way they are routed behind the metal brackets on the back of the block with the clips makes them a bear to get off. /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif

Should I just break them and replace them, or break them and zip tie the new wires together?

Should I also reroute the wires through the same convuluted path?

Thanks!

-a frustrated newbie. /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

2. lukebaby1

lukebaby1 1/2 ton status

Re: Stupid Newbie needs answers

Chuck them and go get you a set of Accell 8.8's Universal then route them down over the top of the valve covers. They come with different boots that will work for your application, and also wire separators to space them out. If done right you probably wont need to get new wire looms. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

3. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

Re: Stupid Newbie needs answers

I like Taylor wire .

4. HarryH3

HarryH3 1 ton status Author