Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Fuel Cell

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by corpusmotorsports, Jun 17, 2004.

  1. corpusmotorsports

    corpusmotorsports Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    I've been looking to get rid of my stock fuel tank and replace it with a fuel cell. What gallon should I get?
     
  2. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    depends on your uses and well lots of stuff. I have a 16 gallon cell in my K5. Think its more than enough for a trailer queen. If I have to drive it anywhere it may be a pain but oh well.
     
  3. corpusmotorsports

    corpusmotorsports Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    Any websites that sell them for decent cost?
     
  4. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    www.summitracing.com is about as good as it gets. I got an RCI 16 gallon, with 2" drop sump on the bottom and foam inside for $140. No sending unit but I simply don't care.
     
  5. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Whats the use of the sending unit. Well, what does it do compared to not using one?
     
  6. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    costs more money and it hooks to your gas guage. So you can simply look at a guage and know how much gas you have. Me I'm fine climbing in the back and looking in the tank once in a while. Fill it before each trip out and if I drive on the road check it often is all.
     
  7. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    Yeah, what sled_dog said. You don't need a gas gauge on a trail rig. It's just more weight.... /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  8. 84gmcjimmy

    84gmcjimmy 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Posts:
    12,838
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    B.C. CANADA
    Okay, good thing I asked because I was going to order one with the sending unit... (not for a while)
     

Share This Page