Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Fuel Cell ???

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by SchnorrCS, Feb 22, 2006.

1. SchnorrCS

SchnorrCS 1/2 ton status

Hey Guys...
    Just had a thought...I want a fuel cell, but like evrything else on my truck, I want to make it. I'm a good welder and have access to MIG/TIg and a plasma cutter as well as a whole host of other good metal work/fabrication tool.
    Anyway, was thinking of useing 12 gauge to 1/8 inch steel (mild). Anybody see any problems with this? I thought of the rust factor, but I think it will be ok. Shouldn't rust bad if I use an additive every other tank or so. I think. Any opinions? I would definatly leak test it and put a roll over vent in it, but any suggestions welcome, ok?
    Thanks guys,
    cS
    Oh yea...Any ideas on a fuel gauge sending unit? How bout safty measures?

2. ryan22re

ryan22re 1/2 ton status

3. rdn2blazer

rdn2blazer 1 ton status Premium Member

I have a 70' chevy 3/4 ton custom camper 2wd pickup. the saddle tanks under each side of the bed were junk. I made two new ones out of 1/8 304 stainless sheet. a 4 X 10 sheet cost me 225.00 about 5 yrs ago. then I bought Auto Meters universal sending units. I used the original tanks as a pattern to make the new tank from. the tank is one piece bent into shape and welded and the lid is a seperate piece. have to check fit the sending units fit before I weld the lid on permanante. there is baffeling welded inside the tank too.