Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

fuel gauge needle constantly way past full!!

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Bross82, Feb 3, 2003.

  1. Bross82

    Bross82 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spencer, MA
    hey, sat. on my way to work my fuel gauge needle decided to rise up way past the full mark. the needle is pointing perfectly horizontal and consistently stays there while my truck is running, if i move the needle it just returns to this position.

    i have been told it may be the float in the gas tank. is this probably it or is there something else i should check. within the past 6-8 months both the fuel pump and sending unit on the tank have been replaced. i personally did not replace the sending unit and am not sure if the float was also replaced, though told it should have been.

    if it is the float, do i just drop the gas tank, is there anything to know about unhooking the sending unit or does it just come out easily? and what to do about the float.

    thanks for any and all help,
    matt
     
  2. 82K5_6.5L

    82K5_6.5L 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Posts:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Az
    hey my truck does that too..well i filled up the tank the other day (well atleast got it kind full) because u know the huge tank is a big chunck out of ur pocket..so i put some money in and the needle went past full it was almost horizontal like u said, but eventually when i drove it started to go down..i have heard that alot of chevys have trouble with their gas gauge..im not sure about ur gas tank..sorry, but its kinda weird to hear somebody has the same problem, except urs is a little different... good luck!
     
  3. 90K5

    90K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Posts:
    3,719
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lubbock, TX
    If it just went there randomly, there may be a short in some wires somewhere...just so you know before you start anything a new sending unit is something like $300.
     
  4. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    usually when the unit is faulty or wire is broken from the unit to the guage then t does that with the needle, checkthe wiring along frame rail, etc
     
  5. rcpilot

    rcpilot 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Posts:
    507
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Cali
    My '76 does the same thing.. the other day it worked correctly for a half day then back to being pegged to the 3 o'clock position.. was going to replace the sending unit this week but now I will check the wires /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif dealer has the sending unit for $80.00
     
  6. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    mine did the same thing and it was a ground wire /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
     
  7. Bross82

    Bross82 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spencer, MA
    alright. i'll check the wiring.

    thanks a lot,
    matt
     
  8. RatMan

    RatMan 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Posts:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Marietta, Georgia
    mine crapped out on me a little bit ago. the rest of the gauges went with it tho /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif i just took the dash panel off and looked for omething wrong. didnt find a damn thing, but when i put it all back together, everything worked fine /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif

    maybe i just got lucky, but i thought i would throw it out there. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  9. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    Re: fuel Gage needle constantly way past full!!

    check the ground wire going from the sending unit to the frame thats what mine was /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     

Share This Page