Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Fuel Gauge

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by SVBlazer, Apr 27, 2000.

  1. SVBlazer

    SVBlazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boxford, MA
    My '85 has had this gas gauge problem for several years. Behind the instrument cluster is a "metallic ribbon" connected to the gauges. The "ribbon" has pulled away from the gas gauge. I don't know what chevy used to connect the "ribbon" to the gauges, but the heat in AZ has killed it. I can reach up and push the "ribbon" to the gas gauge and it apparently works fine. However, when I let go the gauge becomes inop.

    Any experiences or ideas from the assembled masses?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Eagle86K5

    Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitehouse, Ohio
    Those ribbon cables are a bear, I have pseudo repaired them by using a hot glue gun to hold them down. Otherwise you need to trace the contacts back to where you can get to the wire side if it , then run 2 new wires back to the gauge.Most of the Haynes and Chiltons manuale have enough of a schematic of the wiring system to complete this.

    <font color=green>[​IMG]Eagle86K5[​IMG]
     
  3. SVBlazer

    SVBlazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boxford, MA
    Thanks Eagle...The glue gun sounds like the plan. Glue around the edges only or will the glue allow for connectivity between the gauge and the ribbon cable?
     
  4. Eagle86K5

    Eagle86K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2000
    Posts:
    974
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Whitehouse, Ohio
    You would have to glue around the edges and any place you can find to get it to hold. No the glue does not have any conductive properties...

    <font color=green>[​IMG]Eagle86K5[​IMG]
     

Share This Page