Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Fuel Injection

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Z3PR, Sep 3, 2004.

1. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

Just wondering, witch Fuel Injection system you prefer. I'm no expert, but I kinda like the TPI over TBI.

2. big pappa b

big pappa b 3/4 ton status

Sure TPI if money were not an option

3. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

TBI's got it over TPI for cost AND for BBC. At least they made an injection setup for the BBC that was used in the trucks.

Just depends what you want to do. Believe the stock BBC Throttle Body outflows the stock TPI throttle body at something like 500CFM. (not to mention the runners that limit flow as well)

4. big pappa b

big pappa b 3/4 ton status

SO do you have an opinion on a good BBC TBI setup? I'm looking into either a Howell or Holley Commander 950 TBI Kits. Need something that will be happy with 400-425hp

5. dyeager535

I really haven't followed TBI too much, especially BBC TBI stuff. This board is about the only place you'll find it, you don't see BBC/TBI in the same sentence very often on car boards. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Really have to find out how much the stock BBC system will handle. I bet there are a couple people at least, running it , putting down some decent power.

6. CyberSniper

CyberSniper 1/2 ton status Premium Member

If you're going to spend money on a new system... why not plunk the coin down for MPFI?

7. k20

k20 3/4 ton status

ive HEARD emphasize heard, that the stock bbc tbi setup will only handle about 350-400 hp. I have the edelbrock tbi-mpfi conversion on my 496, and it needs more breath at upper rpm, like at 65 if you step on it, takes awhile to wind on up. Im lookin at the edelbrock performer rpm mpfi setup after i become smog exempt in february.

8. dyeager535