Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Fuel pressure for TBI ?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by husurddy, Aug 8, 2001.

1. husurddy

husurddy 1/2 ton status

Snow Hill, Maryland, go east \'till you hit water
    I should start off with a disclaimer about my abilities as a mechanic, I'm not one. I was sent out seven months ago to buy a good family vehicle due to the coming new arrival. I wont tell you my wife’s reaction when I came home with a beat up K5 and a big smile. Before that day I had never even changed my own oil but since then have learned and done a lot. In my quest to find and fix everything on my Blazer I noticed the fuel pressure was at 12.5-13 psi. I have a Holley 670 cfm TBI that, according to the spec sheet Holley sent me, needs 15 psi. My question is will 2-2.5 psi more make a difference and if so, how do I gain this. I should note that I have a new filter and GM ($$$) fuel pump.

2. fr8train

fr8train 1/2 ton status

Try changin your fuel filter. Ummm. I am pretty sure my TBI fuel pump puts out 45 psi.

3. pcorssmit

pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

I've never dealt with the Holley TBIs, I'm assuming you have the one that is a hop-up part that is a direct bolt on, but 15 is a bit too high for a stock TBI, I don't remember the exact range but it sounds like your current pressure is right on. (Also assuming you run the stock TBI, not Pro-Jection).

Pete

'83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs
    '97 Dodge 2500 4x4 CC LB Sport, Cummins 5 spd

4. ChevyCaGal

ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

I believe 12-14 maybe even 15 psi is correct. I've been looking at pumps to go with the set up HotStuff sold me and that seems to be the info I am getting from parts places...