Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Fuel pressure guage question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by SkysTheLimit, Feb 15, 2007.

  1. SkysTheLimit

    SkysTheLimit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I'd like to add a fuel pressure gauage to my truck. I like the Autometer sport comp gauages. They have a mechanical which is in the price I'd like to spend and the electrical @ 180 bucks. What makes the electric one so expensive? I know you're not supposed to mount mechanical pressurized gauges in cab so am I stuck or just live with no fuel pressure guage? I'm not willing to drop 180 bones on a single guage.

    How important are they really to be in cab? Should I just mount a mech on the firewall and be done with it?

    thx
     
  2. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,536
    Likes Received:
    533
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    the pressure switch is the big ticket item.

    i would just mount it in the engine bay so when you are tuning its in there were you need it. or if you are real picky and want to see it as you run then its electric in cab .
     
  3. vortec

    vortec 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    fort worth, texas
    you can run a mech inside the cab, but you'll have to run an isolator. it connects to the t-fitting and transmits the pressure to the gauge, without having to actually flow any fuel into the passenger compartment. the isolator is where they get you. most i've seen are around 90 bucks. i'd prefer electronic, but the cost has kept me away, as well. if you go mech, definitely run the isolator. i haven't known anyone crazy enough to run raw fuel right by his dash wiring, but i've seen a few mechanical oil pressure gauges spring a leak. messy, painful for the driver, whose legs are now covered in hot motor oil, and the oil is supposed to stay in the engine.
     
  4. thfonz98

    thfonz98 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Posts:
    319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salinas, ca
    OT: just dont install it poorly like my buddy did his, lol

    [​IMG]

    oops :eek1: costly leak.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2007
  5. SkysTheLimit

    SkysTheLimit 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Posts:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    under hood it is. nuts to putting it in the cab.

    thanks!
     

Share This Page