Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Full Float vs. Semi Float

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 1977k5, Oct 24, 2005.

1. 1977k5

1977k5 3/4 ton status Vendor

I brought up the argument in another post that an axle being full floating doesn't add a whole lot to the torque that the shafts can sustain. This is from my own engineering knowledge (I am a senior engineering student) and things I have picked up from Pirate (not necessarily correct). No one argued with me and I was kinda surprised because it seems everyone thinks that FF axles add tons of strength over SF. That argument said, I do run 1 tons under my Blazer so I realize that a FF 14 bolt is probably a little stronger than a 10 bolt :wink1: . So, using real logic and strength of materials knowledge, lets hear some arguments for either side. Don't post up "I switched to a FF and I quit breaking shafts" or "everyone always says ...". Real tech with real facts to back it up. Let's hear it. :D

2. 1977k5

Oh yeah, part of my argument is when solving Strengths problems, a vertical load (i.e. the weight of the truck) has no effect on the moment load the shaft can take.

3. mini_mull

mini_mull 1/2 ton status

Don't most people run FF because if you break something the wheel won't fall off, whereas with a SF it could? I prefer my wheels stay on the rig at all times. :wink1:

4. 1977k5

The wheel staying on is one benefit of having a FF axle. Most people switch to FF because the FF axles are generally the heavy duty axles and everything about them is usually much stronger than SF stuff. FF axles can handle much more payload above them as well. The original argument that spawned this post was that a FF Dana 60 (30 spline, 1.20" shafts) is not stronger than a 12 bolt (30 spline, 1.31" shafts), at least from an axle shaft perspective.