Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Funny rear wheel noise? - 88 k5

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by drsnazzy, Aug 28, 2006.

1. drsnazzy

drsnazzy Registered Member

Hey everybody,

I'm hoping for a "collective diagnosis" from you guys.

After a highway trip the other day, I was taking a slow corner at a stop light and heard a 'tunk' sound coming from the driver's side rear wheel. After investigating a bit, it seems to only happen at slow speeds when I'm turning. When I'm over 10 mph or so and/or going in a straight line, it's not there. It goes 'tunk', 'tunk' at a slow, unpredictable rate, almost like the axle or wheel is getting hung up internally.

What do you guys think? I'm a shadetree mechanic with my trusty service manuals, so any help saves me from paying to get it looked at. I can usually fix things if I know what the problem is...

THANKS!

2. drsnazzy

drsnazzy Registered Member

Oh yeah - I forgot to add that this is an 88 350, new rebuilt 700r4. The clunk (tunk?) doesn't happen when I put it in gear -- only whn I am crawling and have the wheel turned, generally with my foot lightly on the brake.

Last edited: Sep 1, 2006
  3. nutsthename

nutsthename 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Mine was doing that and I discovered that it had a limited slip differential. I changed the oil and added a tube of Trans-x limited slip additive and it hasn't done it since.

4. BowtieBlazer

BowtieBlazer 1/2 ton status

I'd say if its sporadic double check the u-joints and rear pinion for play and then you may wanna check your gear oil level in the rear axle and make sure its not the factory gov-lock threatening to go bye bye.....

you may just be hearing it engage and disengage

5. k20

k20 3/4 ton status