Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

funny timing seting problem help UPDATED AT BOTTOM

Discussion in 'The Injection Section' started by sweetk30, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,547
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    i have swaped a tbi on to a 79 motor. runs good but cant set the timing with the pointer. if you try and run it to zero it will stall out at about 10-15 deg before zero. i have checked the top dead to the dist pointer in the rotor and all is good for pointer at #1 wire with top dead.

    anyone else find this problem. ? i would like to get it set and done. right now it runs but likes to pop out the exaust a bit under heavy throttle and stumbles a bit off the bottom. motor ran good before on carb system.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2007
  2. 1979jimmy350

    1979jimmy350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Posts:
    3,069
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ann Arbor Mi
    did you disconect the timing wire?
     
  3. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,547
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    yes and the check engine light came on also. :rolleyes:
     
  4. Jason4x4

    Jason4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    4,505
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    sounds like the pointer doesn't match the balancer.
     
  5. bigblock72

    bigblock72 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    American Fork, Utah
    I agree, what balancer are you using? The '79 style balancer has an outer ring that is wider than the inner hub and requires a timing cover with a pointer in the middle of the cover. To clarify: you would have to shine a timing light between the water pump and cover to check the timing.
    From what you describe it sounds like you are running the wide ('79 style)balancer with a regular bolt on or offset timing tab. If that is the case your actual timing is about 25* ATDC when it shows 0*.
    Please post back with the style of balancer and timing tab you're using. Or just set the timing to where it runs good and leave it at that.
     
  6. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    Get No.1 to TDC on comp stroke and make a new line on your balancer in line with the zero line on your timing tab. Metal marker paint or similar is good. Then strobe it at zero with the timing wire disco'd.
     
  7. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    Guys, he said right in his post that he has already verified that the timing pointer lines up correctly with his balancer and that the rotor points to the correct position in the cap.
     
  8. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    I read that as making sure the rotor arm was pointing at No.1 lead?
     
  9. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,547
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    thanks guys. i might get to play with it this weekend. we will see. i will let you all know how i make out.
     
  10. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    sure the balancer hasn't spun?
     
  11. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,547
    Likes Received:
    542
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    well i figured it out. it only cost me about 100 bucks and 6 hrs or so of time.

    it was the motor / cam combo. the computer didnt like it. i had a 350 tbi motor i know was ready to go and run perfectly.

    so i got a new flywheel and misc parts and droped it in. fired right off after 2 years sittin. runs perfectly now. must have been to big a cam for the tbi / computer to deal with.
     
  12. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    Good job you had a spare motor. Nice work Sherlock!!:D
     

Share This Page