Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Furnace Problems

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by Resurrection_Joe, Dec 7, 2006.

  1. Resurrection_Joe

    Resurrection_Joe 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Posts:
    17,372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gettysburg, SD
    It's 55* in the house

    I have fuel oil furnace

    I just had the thermostat replaced

    It cuts out intermittantly and I have to reset it to get it work.

    It usually only woks fo a while and then dies.

    It seems to happen on cold nights....

    Any ideas?
     
  2. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Move to Arizona.
    Winter heating problem solved. :D
     
  3. TSGB

    TSGB 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Posts:
    12,527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Centralia, Washington
    Buy a better Chinese cook? :dunno:


    I have nothing useful to contribute.
     
  4. POWERMAD

    POWERMAD 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Posts:
    3,466
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Right now it is 35* outside, I'm sitting here in my drawers sweating, it's 80* in here.
    I have electric heat and my electric bill was $27 last month.
    I live in the basement apt and the two places upstairs have gas heat.
    The furnaces are in the basement.
    Being a metal smith I tapped into the ducts and made up some beer box ducts. I had to rework them so I could shut them off.
    Whew it's toasty in here, think I am gonna open a window.
    :p:
     
  5. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    These are 2 of the most common reasons for problems with fuel oil heat.
    cloggd filter/water in line.- Instal new filter and clean out filter cup
    dirty orfice- pull buner out, remove fuel nozzle and clean it out.
    If those fixes dont work remove a tire from your car and light it in your living room.
     
  6. NEK5

    NEK5 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Posts:
    9,843
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Ipswich MA
    I`m willing to bet its the orfice. Mines been doing that for a year now...guess its time to replace the burner (has a 50s or 60s burner now)
     
  7. newyorkin

    newyorkin 1 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Posts:
    16,555
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Los Estados Unitos
    I'd suggest the nozzle. They're recommended to be changed once a year. I guess I'd suggest the filter, too, it's easy enough to change.
    The reset is usually triggered by the burner running without burning any fuel (power is applied, but there's no ignition).
     
  8. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
    Mine did a similar stunt recently..............I "bled" it like you do a brake system.
    Narry a problem since...............where's the fingers crossed smiley?
     

Share This Page