Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

fuse blowing

Discussion in 'Audio' started by k5blazerus, Sep 2, 2001.

  1. k5blazerus

    k5blazerus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Posts:
    654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    I have just had a problem with my system in my chevy and the main fuse on the amp keeps popping and I have a big 30amp fuse that keeps on popping to I have no clue what the proplem is all of it is hooked up right I have been running this setup for 6 months now and this [censored] starts happaning any clues on what the proplem could be. colin

    Save the whales Harpoon a fat chick.
     
  2. DesertDueler

    DesertDueler 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 23, 2001
    Posts:
    3,106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Thats normally caused by somrthing in the amp shorting out. I would take the amp back if its still under warranty. The only other thing is if your main power wire is grounding out on soething. I would check the main power wire for any bare spots.

    86 Jimmy 4"lift 35"MTRs Other cars 69Firebird w/525 hp,and 70GTO live in PHX,AZ<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/modifierperformance>My vehicles</a>
     
  3. Prembird

    Prembird 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 15, 2001
    Posts:
    811
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    kc, mo.
    ive had this same problem before.... But i tweek my stuff constantly... right before this started did you mess with your settings on the amp.. mine would blow out on me whenever i tried to hit a hard bass note... come to find out that the amp was trying to pull more power then the fuse would allow... I ended up going to a 45 amp fuse instead of the 30 up front and havent had a single problem since... the other option was that turn my settings back down on my amp and in the radio..

    Prembird
    [​IMG] <font color=blue> If it aint</font color=blue><font color=red> LOUD </font color=red><font color=blue> Then turn it </font color=blue><font color=red> UP</font color=red> [​IMG]
     
  4. ChevyCaGal

    ChevyCaGal 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    8,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA USA
    My old Pioneer amps were doing that because they weren't grounding right... I cleaned up the area and reattached the wire tight and worked fine until some five finger discounted them [​IMG]

    How can I miss you if you won't go away? [​IMG]
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.chevycagal.homestead.com/steph.html>www.chevycagal.homestead.com/steph.html</a>
    &lt;&gt;&lt; 1 Timothy 4:12 &gt;&lt;&gt;
     
  5. k5blazerus

    k5blazerus 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2001
    Posts:
    654
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bend, OR
    well my amp was toast and know I have a kenwood 600 wat 4/3/2 chanel amp and could not be happier.
    colin

    Save the whales Harpoon a fat chick.
     

Share This Page