Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

fusible link questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dirtwarrior17, Mar 27, 2005.

  1. dirtwarrior17

    dirtwarrior17 Banned

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    Ok i've had no power for about 3 weeks now and I've come down to attacking my K5 with a voltmeter in every possible problem location and im tired....

    I know there is only a few places that could blow a fusible link and kill ALL power but i don't know where they are..

    what fusible links would disable power? i don't have anything with power

    i thought it was the starter wire but i definetly have a fusible link blown somewhere.

    appreciate the help....

    Shane
     
  2. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    IIRC, there are 2 wires going to the starter besides the battery cable. both of these should be fusable links, one wire goes to the fusebox and the other goes to the alternator. ill try to find my haynes manual and look at the scematic.
     
  3. dirtwarrior17

    dirtwarrior17 Banned

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    Do you know if its the big stud or the little stud on the solenoid?
     
  4. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    doh, i forgot about the wire for the ignition switch.

    both fisable links would go to the big stud, same as the battery cable. only i wire goes to the small stud, that comes from the fusebox area also.
     
  5. dontoe

    dontoe 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    9,070
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hickory, N.C.
    Someone else recently had a similar problem and it was corrosion inside the wire cover of the fusible link, IIRC.

    As I suggested to him, I replaced mine in each Chevy truck I get with 50 amp or 60 amp circuit breakers so they reset if there is a problem. At the same time I do the remote solenoid install so there is only one wire (large gauge) going to the starter and it isn't hot unless you're turning over the starter. Up to '86 at least it is simple. not familiar with the newer style alternator and wiring , supposedly it changed some.
     
  6. ntaj*ep

    ntaj*ep 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Posts:
    3,248
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Evergreen state
    Go buy a book with wiring scematics....
     
  7. dirtwarrior17

    dirtwarrior17 Banned

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding, CA
    got one.... just little easier to type a few words than try to find my way through that mess and it's not gonna say which ones cut all power... it would but i don't feel like looking for an hour.
     

Share This Page