Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gages, where did ya mount them?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Wingnutt, Jan 10, 2004.

  1. Wingnutt

    Wingnutt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Posts:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NOVA
    A friend gave me a set of 2" gages (oil press, temp, volt) but I don't see any way to mount them where I can see them without looking down. Does anybody have any pics? I would love to find a pillar mount (even though it looks slightly ricy) but I can't find any. Also has anybody modified one to work? Again pics would be nice. TIA
     
  2. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I used to mount them on top of the dash right behind the steering wheel. Nothing but cutting a hole for wires to come up through, and making a cover. I like them in direct sight, don't have too take eyes off road. (This is where I mounted them in the rot rod.)
     
  3. 350350

    350350 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    939
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Window/Door pillar is great for visibility of gages, but you have to be careful where you mount them as to not limit your visibility on the trails! /forums/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
     
  4. schmuck

    schmuck 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    nola(new orleans LA)
    i got an over head shelf from "shelf it" and put my gauges up there
     
  5. skratch

    skratch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gorveport, OH
    Got any pics of that?
    I have a shelf like that and was thinking of trying to do that myself.
     
  6. Judd

    Judd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ga
    Have you given a thought to mounting them in the dash? I mounted mine in the dash and I like it pretty well. Mine are 2 5/8 gages so I fluch mounted them. You could mount the 2 inch gages inside the dash. I've seen 2 inch gages mounted that way before and I liked them also.
    I'll try a pic of my dash. If it doesn't work, try the link in my sig.

    Hmm, my pics didn't work??? As I said, try my link and go down the page a bit.
     
  7. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Try this:
    [​IMG]
    Looks like a nice job. Wheel looks like an early 70's Challenger.
     
  8. Judd

    Judd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ga
    How'ed you do dat???? /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif
     
  9. Wingnutt

    Wingnutt 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Posts:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NOVA
    I like the in-dash method, but can't find an old instrument cluster and cover to hack up and I don't want to hack up one that works. The bone yards around here charge 80% of new and needless to say they still have thier parts.
     
  10. BadDog

    BadDog SOL Staff Member Super Moderator Author

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2001
    Posts:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Right click on the pic and look at the URL. Compare that to what you posted and you'll see how I dug it out...
     
  11. Confedneck

    Confedneck 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lehigh Acres, Florida
    did they come with the metal mounting bracket that holds all 3? why not turn the guages sideways in that housing and mount it to the a-pillar, may take a little fabrication to make it work.. but would definately be
     
  12. zcarczar

    zcarczar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Apple Valley California
    I mounted my trans temp gauge here. I was also able to fit 3 switches in there for my Trans lockup, trans cooler fan and another set of off road lights.

    [​IMG]
     
  13. 85 blazer

    85 blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Avoca NY
    I mounted my oil and temp guage in the cubby hole above the heater controls used the stock voltmeter and painted over the oil and temp guages in the dash my tach is mounted on the dash with shift light
     
  14. Judd

    Judd 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Posts:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N.E. Ga
    [ QUOTE ]
    Right click on the pic and look at the URL. Compare that to what you posted and you'll see how I dug it out...

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thanks for the help on the pics. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  15. cochino12

    cochino12 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    563
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Parker, Co
    I know the shift light is way to big, but here is what I did in my 2wd

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  16. 78GMC1/2TON4x4

    78GMC1/2TON4x4 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Posts:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mount.Angel, OR
    Where did ya get the stainless steel dash at? im looking into getting one made of diamond plate and powder coating it black........ /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif
     

Share This Page