Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

garage air compressor

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Heavymetal, Nov 7, 2001.

  1. Heavymetal

    Heavymetal 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2001
    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Oregon
    This is a little off the subject, but I am looking to buy an air compressor for my garage. I figure a lot of you guys have had some experience with these. Could you tell what brands are of better quality. I hate buying a tool more than once. Any input is appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Mike.

    77'/87' 3/4 ton Burb, 400cu, sm465, np205, 14boltff, dana44, 4.10s, 35in BFG's.
     
  2. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    ingersol-rand 2 stage and you will never have to buy one again.

    Like to go sloppin' 'round in da mud in a rapid fashion....=) [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo>http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo</a>
     
  3. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Mine's a Sanborn, 5 HP, twin cylinder. It requires a 220 volt connection. I've had it for about 9 years now and it's never missed a beat. The ultimate is the Ingersol-Rand 2-stage upright monster that Home Depot carries. It's right at a grand though! [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  4. Impex

    Impex 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chandler, AZ
    i have a 5.5 horse 30 gallon craftsman compressor and it keeps up with my tools for the most. when i run a cut off wheel at 90 psi for a while i start to notice it looses power. but other then that its great. the only other thing i don't like about it is that its really loud.
     
  5. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Innnnnnggggeeeerrsssooooolllll Rrraaaaaaaannnnnnddddd

    Like to go sloppin' 'round in da mud in a rapid fashion....=) [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo>http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo</a>
     
  6. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    Ingersoll Rand. IMO its the only one to buy. I have the 2 stage 60 gallon T30 for my shop. Best investment I've made in a while. 15.7 cfm at 175psi. It is a 220V 5HP model.

    John

    oops, forgot to include the price. $900, but that was a deal for me, as I have a friend that works for a retailer. They normally runh about $1000

    <font color=blue>"When all else fails, read the instructions, or get a bigger hammer"</font color=blue><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by 83ZZ4_Jimmy on 11/07/01 08:40 AM.</FONT></P>
     
  7. californiak5

    californiak5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Posts:
    820
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oceanside, Ca. 92056
    What was the cost?

    [​IMG] <font color=green>Born to Drive My K5</font color=green> [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/californiak5>CaliforniaK5's Pictures</a>
     
  8. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    I have a little 3hp 30gallon Ingersol that I use. I picked it up used for $70. It is rated 11.5cfm at 90psi. Cycles a lot but it out rates the Cheaper compressors that they sell at Home Depot such as the black max. What you need to look for is the CFM at 90psi. Once you get below 10cfm at 90psi your getting into weak compressors. The higher the better. That's where it does the grunt work like running die grinders and sand blasters. Mine is high enough I can run a small gravity feed blaster. It's slow and I have to let the compressor rest about every 15-20 minutes but it does the job. Sand blaster is about as much draw as you will ever get in a home shop.

    Women dig dents and flat paint!
    coloradok5.com/gallery/Grim
    75 Jimmy, Dollar
    Grim-Reaper
     
  9. Gold Rush

    Gold Rush 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I bought a Cambell Hausfield at Harbor Freight and am completely satisfied with it. It's a 7HP 60 Gal compressor that runs off of 220V and only cost $385.


    David

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.extremeblazer.com>http://www.extremeblazer.com</a>
     
  10. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Grim,
    My sand blaster does suck the air down, but my D.A. REALLY eats up the air.

    John

    Like to go sloppin' 'round in da mud in a rapid fashion....=) [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo>http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo</a>
     
  11. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Stay away from any of the "oilless" compressors. They're way too loud. I bought one from Sears and took it back the very next day. Coudn't stand to be in the garage with it running! [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  12. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Where do yall get these nice garages with the 220V outlets??[​IMG] I wou'd've purchased one of those 220V, but don't have an outlet for it so I had to settle with the 110V model [​IMG]
    Boss

    Pic of my truck Before N' After
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter</a>
     
  13. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

    83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Posts:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Richmond, VA
    I just wire my garage the way a need it. It's not hard to do if your not afraid of electricity. When my house was built we spec'd a 400 Amp service. It gives me plenty of extra space. Then I wired in a transfer switch that lets me have backup power when we lose our main service (i.e. snow, ice storms)

    John

    <font color=blue>"When all else fails, read the instructions, or get a bigger hammer"</font color=blue><P ID="edit"><FONT class="small">Edited by 83ZZ4_Jimmy on 11/07/01 08:46 AM.</FONT></P>
     
  14. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    yea, well my shop space isn't actually my shop space... I purchased my fathers house, and he just happens to have a nice 2 bay shop that he doesn't use!!! he parks one of his tractors in it during the winter that he uses to feed with, and the other bay is empty. both bays will sit empty for the next 2 years if it wasn't for me...

    of course I am more then willing clean it / keep it in good shape for him! [​IMG][​IMG] LOL his floor is really bad in it so I'm gooing to have to break it out, and pour a new one...

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  15. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    In my last house, I just had the electrician install a 30 amp 220 volt outlet right where I wanted my compressor to sit. The panel was in the garage, so it was pretty easy.

    The house I'm in now already had a 50 amp 220 volt outlet!!!! [​IMG] I don't know what the original owner did out there, but there's plenty of juice available! I just made a heavy duty extension cord that adapts from the 50 amp outlet to the 20 amp plug on my compressor. [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck>www.angelfire.com/super/ThunderTruck</a>
    It's a great day to be alive...
     
  16. Heavymetal

    Heavymetal 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2001
    Posts:
    936
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Oregon
    Thanks for all the responses. Sounds Like Ingersol-Rand is the way to go. I was hoping to get one that had wheels and ran off 110. The 220 outlet is not a problem, I can run one of those myself. However I wanted it to be semi-portable. The biggest I could find with wheels was a campbell hausfield 5hp rated at 5.5cfm@90psi. Does Ingersol-Rand even make any models with wheels? I may have to bite the bullet and buy a stationary model, I would like to be able to run a sandblaster in the future.

    Thanks again,
    Mike.

    77'/87' 3/4 ton Burb, 400cu, sm465, np205, 14boltff, dana44, 4.10s, 35in BFG's.
     
  17. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Yeah, they make them with wheels. Haven't you ever driven by a construction site or a road work site and seen them. They are kind of a blue and cream color, usually being pulled behind some kind of a dump truck. I highly recommend a class three hitch and buy only premium diesel fuel to run it. LOL!!!!!
    Seriously, they make several different sizes, just remember to keep the cfm up to at least 9 cfm.

    John

    Like to go sloppin' 'round in da mud in a rapid fashion....=) [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo>http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo</a>
     
  18. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    Oh, almost forgot, occasionally you will see them hanging from a crane too. (still joking around, don't throw stones)

    Like to go sloppin' 'round in da mud in a rapid fashion....=) [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo>http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo</a>
     
  19. Boss

    Boss 1/2 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    So can I wire in a 220V outlet using the existing fuse box in the garage? I wired in 110V outlets before, (when we "finished" the basement a while back) so I'm not too afraid of electric [​IMG]...just a little :)

    Or do I need a special fuse box or something? If I can do it, I may just have to try and return my compressor (even though its a couple years old) and trade it in for the bigboy 220V!!

    Pic of my truck Before N' After
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter>http://coloradok5.com/gallery/BeforeNAfter</a>
     
  20. chevyracing

    chevyracing 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,589
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Colorado
    You can use the existing box. Most of the standard 220 compressors only need 30 (220v) amps. Use 10/3 wire and a 30 amp (220v) breaker. The difference is you make the red hot, black hot and the white is neutral. Make sure when you wire the recepticle for the compressor that the center lug is used for ground or neutral. If you don't have a 30 (220v) amp breaker you can use two 15 amp breakers or two 20 amp breakers. Before you go to the store to get the breaker don't forget to check and see if you have a Square D or a G.E. style breaker box.

    John

    PS. If you have to run the wire over around 40 feet you may want to use 8/3 instead of 10/3 wire.

    Like to go sloppin' 'round in da mud in a rapid fashion....=) [​IMG]

    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo>http://community.webshots.com/album/23622937JIJjTHhZPo</a>
     

Share This Page