Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Garage door opener guys II

Discussion in 'The Lounge' started by BranndonC, Feb 16, 2006.

  1. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    :haha:your thread can can reminded me of my question. The house I live at has a gate outside. Well to get in you have to press an access code on the keypad. Its very hard to get to this keypad when i'm in my truck because its so tall. Inside the gate on the wall hidden there is this doorbell. when you press it, the gates open. Theres only 2 wires running to it. Would this mean that if i just contacted those 2 wires together it would open the gate? And ifso can I get some sort of wireless remote to accomplish this?
     
  2. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    TTT anyone?
     
  3. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    If the gate opens when you press the button ,, and there are only 2 wires , then its a momentary switch ( doorbell switch is simplest of all , spring metal contacts ) . And yes if you touch those wires it would open .

    You can probably find something to do it wirelessly .
     
  4. BranndonC

    BranndonC 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Posts:
    8,591
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Anaheim, Ca
    thanks, thats what i was wondering!
     
  5. Cmoe

    Cmoe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2000
    Posts:
    2,884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mesa,AZ

Share This Page