Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gas->diesel

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 79k20350, Dec 19, 2005.

1. 79k20350

79k20350 3/4 ton status

Ok so im thinking of going to a diesel. how hard is the swap? is it worth going 6.5? i have found a few 6.5s around cheap but was wondering if they will bolt in place of a 350 like a 6.2 will. well i know alot of this has been covered before but my search button takes forever. thanks alot guys!:D

2. 73k5blazer

73k5blazer Unplug the matrix cable from the back of your head Premium Member

IIRC, and I'm no diesel expert here (even though I own one), but I think the 6.5 is the same block as the 6.2, just bored out a little more. So as far as bolting on goes, I believe it's the same.
    As far as the rest goes...can't help too much..never done the swap....

3. 6.2puller

6.2puller 1/2 ton status

While not being entirelly wrong that is not really true either. The 6.5 is a seperate casting than the 6.2. But the differences are internal so yes the 6.5 will bolt right in where your gasser was. You cannot bore out a 6.2 to run 6.5 pistons without hitting the water jackets so that is where the differences are.

Other than that yes it is a simple swap. Make sure you get the gas tank sending unit from the donner truck and if you can get the gauges too. Other than that get the wireing and motor and have fun. A few wires need to be moved in the bulk connector but not hard. Their are plenty of guys that can help in the Diesel forum in the members sections.

4. 79k20350

79k20350 3/4 ton status