Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gas Gauge Flakey

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Jackson 88K5, Dec 1, 2000.

  1. Jackson 88K5

    Jackson 88K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2000
    Posts:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Topsham, Maine, USA
    Tonight I was finishing some upgrades (manual hubs)[​IMG] and went for a test drive and after putting it in 4 WD and playing around a little off road I saw my gas gauge go past full then it stopped in the 3 o'clock postion WoW I wish I had that much gas in there, but I know I have only half a tank, what do you think could be wrong with the gauge of float?

    http://www.tjcommons.com/88K5/
     
  2. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    try checking the ground and power wire at the sending unit mine did the exact same thing while i was wheeling and what happend was the power wire poped off it dose not atatch very well it only pushes on and is very easy to jar loose. hope this helps. good luck

    s.smith 77blazer lookin 4 mud
     
  3. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,169
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    I've heard that most guage problems are ground related. Maybe a wire got tweaked when you were playing around? Check the wires going to the sender.

    Rene

    [​IMG]
     
  4. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,169
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Hey Mudhog, looks like you beat me to it by less than a minute [​IMG], I guess great minds think alike![​IMG]

    Rene

    [​IMG]
     
  5. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Yep, the circuit is open somewhere. When the gauge circuit goes open on a GM, the gauge pegs past full. The problem is usually at or near where the wires attach to the top of the fuel tank. It's not a real easy area to get your hands into, but with a bit of work you can reach in there and check things out.

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com
     
  6. mudhog

    mudhog THEGAME Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2000
    Posts:
    17,899
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    portland oregon
    very true trustyk5 very true lol

    s.smith 77blazer lookin 4 mud
     
  7. 8_YOUR_H2

    8_YOUR_H2 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2000
    Posts:
    2,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Try pulling the fuel gauge off and reinstalling it. Mine did the same thing and one of the prongs were not sitting the clip right and it wouldnt make a connection..easy fix. Try it before trouble shooting the wiring may save time
     
  8. rocko

    rocko 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2000
    Posts:
    3,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    It's called "VIRTUAL gas gauge".
    Mine fluctuates back and forth most of the time.. but it only fluctuates in 1/8 tank increments. Except when it's full it won't flicker until it goes down a little.


    (updated) http://www.rocko.coloradok5.com
     
  9. Thunder

    Thunder 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2000
    Posts:
    8,946
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northeast Nevada
    I had a fuel guage that wandered all over the place. I fixed mine the same way mouse says.
    I had to pull my guage cluster to grease the speedo cable To get the cruse controll to work right. While I had everything apart I pulled the gas guage out of its sockets and cleaned up the connections. Been steady as a rock and working good ever sence.
     

Share This Page