Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

gas gauge quit working

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by MUD JUNKIE, Dec 22, 2002.

  1. MUD JUNKIE

    MUD JUNKIE 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reddick,florida
    We all the dreaded gas problems where you cant seem to keep any in the tank,and my gas gauge quit working about a week ago,which has made me run out of gas twice /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gifso,I have looked at all fuses,and wires,took the dash apart and cant seem to find out WTF is wrong with it? I even got a new gauge for free at the bone yard,if I replace it will that solve my problems? or is it in the tank?? /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  2. manyblazers

    manyblazers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    toronto, Canada
    Last time my gauge stopped working it was the sending unit in the tank. Kinda pricey to replace too. Another time the gauge worked to about half and then started bouncing. Turned out where the sending unit connected to the removeable cap on the top of the tank the soldering had broken lose and the whole unit was swaying back and forth. Either way drop the tank and take a peek. No smoking though eh /forums/images/graemlins/tongue.gif
     
  3. MUD JUNKIE

    MUD JUNKIE 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reddick,florida
    how much did the beast(sending unit) run ya? /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  4. hammer

    hammer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2001
    Posts:
    449
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Binghamton N.Y.
    check for the ground wire at the sending unit. Every truck is known for a rotten ground wire at the frame.
     
  5. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Supposedly if the gauge goes empty it is the sending unit or gauge, but if it goes totally full it is the ground.

    I could be backwards on this though..
     
  6. MUD JUNKIE

    MUD JUNKIE 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reddick,florida
    yeah it goes totally empty,and I have at least $10 in it. /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif
     
  7. BARRAZA

    BARRAZA 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    The gauge reads a variable resistance in the tank. Most (all?) chevys operate between 0 and 90 ohms. Approx 90 ohms full. 0 ohms empty. A couple ways to check, but first check the ground. If you can reach the tank wire, unplug it and connect it to ground - gauge should read E. With the circuit open the gauge should read full. If you remove the gauge, you can check the resistance in the sender wire with a meter, should always be between 0 and 90 ohm, although to check for movement you would have to add or remove fuel. Most likely it's the sender, i have had three bad ones in the past ten years (different vehicles) but never had a bad gauge. Senders can be expensive, my last one was over 100 bucks. Cost more than the tank. /forums/images/graemlins/shocked.gif
     
  8. MUD JUNKIE

    MUD JUNKIE 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2001
    Posts:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Reddick,florida
    Wow thats pricey /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif /forums/images/graemlins/eek.gif I'll check in that,thanks for the info /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     

Share This Page