Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gasket: Tranny to T-case...now: torque conv bolts?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by laketex, Aug 15, 2000.

  1. laketex

    laketex 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    I've a TH350 tranny and a NP203 Transfer case I'm putting back in my truck tonight. Looked all over for that paper gasket that goes inbetween the two but no luck. Will I be all right using RTV silicon? I got some of the copper stuff to try and if anyone's done this with no probs, that's what I'll do. Thanks.

    Bryan

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Durant, Ok
    '79 Blazer in progress
     
  2. Shawn

    Shawn 1/2 ton status Premium Member Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,753
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    5280'
    Re: Gasket: Tranny to T-case

    I'm not too sure about autos but I've tried using that copper high temp silicon (orange stuff) with a 465 4spd/205 combo and a 465/208 combo and both times I've done that, I've had major leaks at that point. Soon as I installed a paper gasket, the leak stop.

    Shawn
    87 K5
    few mods
    [​IMG]
     
  3. bablazer73

    bablazer73 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2000
    Posts:
    3,363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    upstate ny
    Re: Gasket: Tranny to T-case

    I don't like silicone. It will get into bolt holes and make a mess. I always get those gaskets from my local tranny shop. there the only place in town that has them in stock!

    your right. I don't understand the jeep thing!
     
  4. laketex

    laketex 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    Re: Gasket: Tranny to T-case

    Ok then I'll try to find a paper gasket. I sure don't want to get that thing up in there to have to pull it again. I tried Napa, O Reilleys, and Autozone and they didn't know at all. Maybe I'll wait on stabbing it in and call all the tranny shops around tommorrow morning. I think if I have to go to one more parts store today with a snotty dumba$$ clerk that knows nothing, I'm going to become homicidal. Thanks for the shop tip and the help on short notice guys.

    Bryan

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Durant, Ok
    '79 Blazer in progress
     
  5. Executioner

    Executioner 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2000
    Posts:
    1,530
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Temp. Ft. Walton Beach Fl. home=Tucson, Az.
    Re: Gasket: Tranny to T-case

    What NAPA did'nt have it, or could they get it ?
    As most people post here just go to any parts store !
    Good luck, I think you'll have luck at a tranny repair shop.
     
  6. Goose

    Goose 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Central Kansas
    Re: Gasket: Tranny to T-case

    I tried just silicone on my '77 with TH350 and NP203. It did not work. What a mess! I finally bought a gasket but didn't get in before I sold the truck. If you can't find one I could dig mine out and mail it to you. Let me know.
     
  7. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
  8. laketex

    laketex 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    Re: Gasket: Tranny to T-case

    thanks grim...this could have been a dumb move, but my old paper gasket was intact so I just reused it. We put that thing in last nite in one piece (tranny, transfer, and crossmember) and it took about 3 hours, a tranny jack, 2 floor jacks, a JD tractor, lots of assorted prying tools (jack handle, 1-1/4 box end wrench, bolts, crowbar), and a few not so kind words. But it's finally lined up and the bolts started thru the bell housing and crossmember. One thing though that has me a little confused. The old flywheel to torque converter bolts were threaded on the converter, this one uses nuts? This won't hurt me will it? I guess I'll just go and find some grade 8 bolts and nuts to use on it. Thanks for all your help!

    Bryan

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Durant, Ok
    '79 Blazer in progress
     
  9. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Re: Gasket: Tranny to T-case

    No some are just made different. They acttully have a bolt for that that has ribs on both the nut and bolt to lock it down so it wont loosen up. Most of those style converters don't have the clearence to use a nut and lock washer. If nothing else use the high temp Locktite. You could try hitting your local tranny shop and see if they will give you the three you need.

    Diging it in the dirt with my K5's
    Grim-Reaper
    http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/
     
  10. laketex

    laketex 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    Re: Gasket: Tranny to T-case

    thanks bud, it did have me a little worried. I was really really hoping that I didn't have the wrong converter. I'll call the tranny shops today...

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Durant, Ok
    '79 Blazer in progress
     
  11. Ragbagger

    Ragbagger Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2000
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salida CO
    I would approach this with caution. I just installed a new gine, THD350 and rebuilt the NP203 in our 77. The only problem I have is a leak(leaks) between the tans and t-case. I could not find a new gasket anywhere in my town so I made one and used lots of silicone. It didn't work. I am going to have a local shop re-gasket it for me. I can't face up the doing that again. There is also a rubber o-ring in the back of the tranny. I must have put that in wrong as well. The bottom three holes in t-case have a special bolt with o-rings on them. I didn't re-use them. Don't do what I did. Good Luck.
     
  12. waxer@work

    waxer@work Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2000
    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess no one thought of this but the gasket you all are looking for is at the dealer for $4
    I have bought mine a couple times when I had the tranny rebuilt and then again when I had the 203 tcase rebuilt. Then I had to get the gasket for the 205 when I did the conversion and once again the dealer came through. So, in short....call the dealer
     
  13. dumbfounded

    dumbfounded 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 20, 2000
    Posts:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Castalia, NC
    You could also buy a gasket sheet and make a new one yourself. This is what we did in the military when I was in. If you do it right there wouldn't be any problem. I always use gasket sealer with the gaskets anyways. The black RTV has been the best for me in low temp applications. Sticks like gum to a shoe. Of course the orange for high temps.

    Love, Peace, and Hair Grease...........
     
  14. laketex

    laketex 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    well I guess if it leaks, it leaks. I just picked up an NP205 t-case, so guess what's going in next time if I have to pull the thing again? You guessed it. haha. thanks guys for the help and heads up. Guess we'll all know if I ever get this thing running.

    My big question to you is, why do we need a gasket at all? After looking at both tranny and case, they look to be both sealed units with a shaft drive. Why should it leak between the two? This I don't understand.

    Bryan

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    Durant, Ok
    '79 Blazer in progress
     
  15. Wheels

    Wheels 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Posts:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Native Floridian living in Oklahoma, USA
    Oil slingers in that area only half-efficient. If you ever get to OKC, Liberty Transmission has that gasket. Best to use Permatax 2B on that gasket before bolting tranny and T-case together.

    Larry
    79 Blazer, almost done!!!
     
  16. I had to go see the GM folks at the dealer to get mine so I would guess it would be the same for yours.

    [​IMG]<font color=red>BigBurb[​IMG]
    <font color=purple>IF YOU'RE SCARED, SAY YOU'RE SCARED !!
     

Share This Page