Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gauge cluster interchangability

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by big94gmc, Nov 10, 2005.

  1. big94gmc

    big94gmc 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    3,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    No VA.
    The five gauge cluster I took out of the '73 worked great, so it's a shame to let it go to waste. I'm going to eBay it and hope it gets picked up. But I need some info about it for the listing. What years shared the same gauge cluster as the '73 (with the speedo going to 100)? Wasn't it '73-'78? And, technically, this cluster could be used with any truck that had the mechanical speedo, right? What were those years?
     
  2. big94gmc

    big94gmc 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Posts:
    3,651
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    No VA.
    ....Anyone know?
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,978
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    I can't give exact year splits, but the differences between later (again, not sure exact years) and the '73 are going to be, at a minimum:

    Printed circuit board/instrument panel connector pinout
    Ammeter instead of a voltmeter
    Mechanical oil pressure gauge
    Speedometer cable clips to the cluster housing on yours, correct? Later ones do not.
     
  4. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    i dont know exact... but i put a 73 cluster in my 78 a while back..... then i was going to put a 86 cluster in my truck but didnt want to loose the factory tach and once I go with a cluster that says... unleaded fuel only need a catalytic converter - at least that is what they said at inspection and I didnt wanna argue with them.... :haha:
     
  5. drofdar

    drofdar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Posts:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Small Hijack, but anyone know of a tach that will fit in the large fuel guage hole on the right side of these clusters? Then the fuel guage could live in the small hole on lower left. It only has the BRAKE light on mine.
     
  6. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    what year?
    I have a 79 gmc cluster in mine.. factory tach...

    so I got the big speedo, big tach, small amp, temp, fuel, and whatever the fourth is... :haha:
     
  7. drofdar

    drofdar 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Posts:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    I have two, 73 and 80. Both have the large fuel guage. 79 GMC would fit, wonder where I can get one?
     
  8. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    www.car-part.com
     
  9. nstarry

    nstarry 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2004
    Posts:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    st.cloud minnesota
    I hope this is sort of what you looking for ?but the interchangebility will depend on the face trim right ??? my LMC catolog show a split for 73-75 76-87 but they dont sell the whole cluster, and the individual gages have a million splits. but the they sell the curciut panel thing for the back of the gage cluster and its split is the same 73-75 and somthing like 76-79, and all varies with tach or not! I would list it for a 73 and tell them to do there own research just to be on the safe side! I dont know if any of this helps at all
     
  10. BizeeB65

    BizeeB65 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2005
    Posts:
    859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    You putting that instrument cluster out of a 73 on ebay? Let me make you an offer first!
     
  11. beater_k20

    beater_k20 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Posts:
    10,276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Elkhart, IN
    if im not mistaken, the "factory tach" clusters didnt come in light duty trucks, only medium duty trucks, C60s and the like. there are a couple of guys out there that modify factory clusters to accept this tach, and a smaller fuel gauge. one of them can be found in the 73-87 area of www.67-72chevytrucks.com , although i cant remember his name at the moment.
     

Share This Page