Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gauge He!!?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ntx78k5, Aug 24, 2005.

1. ntx78k5

ntx78k5 1/2 ton status

This weekend my plan is to find out why my oil pressure gauge goes from 30 at idle to peg when I hit the throttle and find out why my water temp guage wont work at all.

When I check for power at the guages they are fine but I cant figure it out. They are the original gauges for a 78K5 with a 350 and the motor is out of an early 80's truck. Ive changed the thermastate twice and still no change.

Anyone having luck with those cheap guage pods from auto zone or orielly? how hard are they to install? I'm no electrician....

2. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

All my experience with the factory gauges , came from trial and error . AFTER I had already replaced the senders and it didn't work .

I have had the resistor on the back , between the posts , actually go bad . They are a different color for each gauge .

I actually changed that and the gauge read right again :D

3 years later the temp gauge sender went bad though :p:

3. ntx78k5

ntx78k5 1/2 ton status

So am I better of just going around the factory stuff and just bying one of those $50 pods volt/temp/oil guages for under the dash?

4. pauly383

Depends on what you want .

I am bypassing them in the trail truck , and using the gauge pod gauges ( in dash ) .

I didn't mind getting the factory stuff working on the truck I drive all the time . I actually like the factory stuff . I used several used gauge clusters until I got what I needed to make it work .

Its not hard at all , just some diagrams , a multimeter , some patience , and a good understanding that you will need to replace wiring sometimes in old rides

5. ntx78k5

ntx78k5 1/2 ton status