Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gauge location

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by '73 K5, Jan 16, 2001.

  1. '73 K5

    '73 K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    I'm trying to "clean up" the inside of my Blazer a little bit and I'd like to move some of my aftermarket gauges to where the 4 stock gauges go on the left side of the dash. I know I've seen guys do it before, but I've just never really payed attention. My question is, how do you get them mounted in there. Do they mount from the front of the dash, or behind it??? Thanks

    '73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad
     
  2. k5kurt

    k5kurt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2000
    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    thorsby,AB, Canada
    Hey there, 73 k5. Gauge relocation is in my plans too. I haven't done it yet, but everyone ive talked to says they will fit in the holes, and the hardware boltes up from the back. Ipersonaly am gonna put just my speedo and tach in the front plate and all the rest are going top of the dash. I'm also adding a trans. temp. gauge for my new 700.
     
  3. KENBARBOUR

    KENBARBOUR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2001
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    I HAVE THEM IN THE FOUR HOLES ON MY 79
    THEY FASTEN FROM BEHIND
    YOU DO HAVE TO CLEARANCE THE HOLES A LITTLE BIT THOUGH AND YOU HAVE TO CUT OUT THE WHITE PLASTIC BEHIND
    I USED A DREMEL TO MAKE EM FIT
     
  4. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,188
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Hey HELLRAISER, could you please lose the 'caps'. It makes my eyes bleed reading your posts [​IMG]
    Thanks

    Rene

    [​IMG]
     
  5. KENBARBOUR

    KENBARBOUR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2001
    Posts:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry about that still trying to figure out this computer thing out. I swore I'd never give in to the computer craze, but now the K5 is broke and its gonna snow tommorow. I am bummed!!
     
  6. chevydude

    chevydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2000
    Posts:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    mat-su valley alaska
    hey,i would like to do this also, did you cut the circuit board also or what?

    marcus
     
  7. nyyef

    nyyef 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 16, 2000
    Posts:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    do a search for gauges, someone wrote up a complete procedure and posted pics. cant remember who it was though......sorry.

    Knife.
    knife.coloradok5.com
     
  8. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas
    OK, here it is again......<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.shelby.net/mgervin/gauges.htm>http://www.shelby.net/mgervin/gauges.htm</A>
    Search the guy's site for some nice pictures of the conversion.

    Michael[​IMG][​IMG]
     
  9. HarryH3

    HarryH3 1 ton status Author

    Joined:
    May 31, 2000
    Posts:
    10,384
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    You guys have too much time on your hands! [​IMG]

    <font color=black>HarryH3 - '75 K5</font color=black>
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com>http://ThunderTruck.ColoradoK5.com</A>
     

Share This Page