Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gauge Pods

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by laketex, Feb 4, 2005.

  1. laketex

    laketex 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    What gauge pods are you guys running in your '73-'91 diesels? Where did you get them? I need to install a couple gauges in my crewcab and am having a problem finding the pods aftermarket. Thanks!

    Bryan
     
  2. BlueBlazer

    BlueBlazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2001
    Posts:
    1,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Only options you have are dash mounted stuff. No one produces an A pillar pod for our trucks unless it's happened in the last few months.
     
  3. laketex

    laketex 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    6,220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Texas
    I know summit sells a TON of apillar pods for different applications...do you think another vehicle might be similar enough that it's pod might work with slight mods?

    I really haven't seen a dash gauge that I liked...maybe i can fab something up under the dash near the middle.
     
  4. Mastiff

    Mastiff 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Posts:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Do all the old diesels have like NO gauges, or is it just the CUCVs? I've never had a vehicle with no temp gauge at least. All I have is idiot lights besides fuel, speed, and voltage. And how do you really know if the oil pressure idiot light is actually working...
     
  5. kennyw

    kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2002
    Posts:
    13,223
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    Stevens Pass Highway, WA
    If the engine is not running but the ignition switch is in the "Run" position the light should come on. That is the only way to know if it is working.
     
  6. AgDieseler

    AgDieseler Certified Scrap Producer Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Location:
    Dallas
  7. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Look good! Question on the boost gauge - is 15 the most your setup will see?
     
  8. AgDieseler

    AgDieseler Certified Scrap Producer Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Location:
    Dallas
    Probably not, but I sure won't go far past that without an intercooler. Someday, I'll upgrade to a 20 psi gauge.
     
  9. Drey

    Drey 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 8, 2003
    Posts:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    How much do those 3 gauges cost? Individual prices would be cool too, im killing for a Tach in my truck, boost would be cool to, how do those boost gauges work anyway?
     
  10. AgDieseler

    AgDieseler Certified Scrap Producer Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Posts:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    1,083
    Location:
    Dallas
    They're not cheap. Isspro makes them for Banks, so that may help you find a deal somewhere.

    www.dieselpage.com

    They sell a lot of Isspro stuff, so check them out.
     
  11. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Just got my new JCWhitney Truck catalog, and they have "generic" A-pillar gauge pods for 2 1/16" gauges, in single, double, and triple models. The ad says to use a heat gun to form the pod to your pillar (makes sense...). I think the triple was $30, single and double a little cheaper.
    They're probably not the prettiest pods out there, but they'll do the job. I'd get one if I was running the small gauges, but since I've started a collection of Autometer Sport-Comp 2 5/16" gauges (or whatever the bigger ones are...), it won't work for me.
     
  12. eclipse

    eclipse 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    "Autometer Sport-Comp 2 5/16" gauges (or whatever the bigger ones are..."

    I found that same pod at a local store tell I noticed the gauge size cause I have the same size of gauges your talking about and I dont like those little dinky ones for that pod. I'm thinking about making my own pod for the 2 5/16" gauges.
     
  13. dallassnowman

    dallassnowman 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Posts:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Forney, Texas
    How can I put a tach in my stock 6.2?? Where do I hook it up to???
     
  14. eclipse

    eclipse 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    I dont think Diesels are like gas with tachs. You dont have an igintion system to run a tach. I thought I heard once you had to have a gear for a tach on a diesel, I'm still learning diesels myself here.
     
  15. joez

    joez 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    2,512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Lenox, Illinois
    You can run them off of the crank pully, alternator, or injection line pulses.
     
  16. savagek5diesel

    savagek5diesel 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2003
    Posts:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redding California
    larger shift tach question.

    I've also heard you can run a tach of the alternator. With that in mind, i've looked through summit and they have adapters to run their larger 5" tachs off of the alt. I was wondering if us diesel guys would be able to use that setup? because i would like to run their 5" in dash tach with a 5" in dash speedo with misc. guages in the other 4 slots.
     
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2005
  17. jarheadk5

    jarheadk5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Posts:
    4,389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I'm thinking the same way, but I'm not gonna go full-pod. I'll probably just bend up some .062 aluminum sheet with the correct-size hole(s) for the gauge(s); this way I can put them at the angle that suits me.
     

Share This Page