Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

gauge pods

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dodgetruck91, Mar 14, 2004.

  1. dodgetruck91

    dodgetruck91 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Posts:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    New Berlin, Wisconsin
    does anyone here have gauge pods on their pillar on the k5 or burban? if so where did you get them, i need a 3 but a 2 pod would work. thanks /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  2. fatboy

    fatboy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Posts:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tennesse
    same here but cant find a thing>>>>>am thinking of fiderglassing the ones I have. some of the stereo mags have some articals for modifying the pilers for tweeters. didnt look hard but I will probley screw it up somehow. /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif /forums/images/graemlins/burb.gif
     
  3. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    No one makes them to fit our trucks specifically... /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  4. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    I am wondering this too. I am going to put a 5" autometer tach in the corner on the dash next to the A pillar and then I would like to have 2 or 3 guages on the pillar itself. /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     
  5. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    The A-pillar pod seems gimmicky to me and doesn't suit the style of the trucks at all (if they made them).

    I had a 3" tach mounted in a points-style distributor cap strapped to my column (12:00 position).

    There's ample space next to the headlight switch. My Dad had a 2" transmission temp guage installed there.

    That little shelf pocket above the heater controls is useless... I was thinking of cutting that open and mounting a couple of small guages in an aluminum filler plate.

    EDIT: Something like this would be good for covering up that center speaker grille that always cracks:

    http://store.racinglab.com/undasdualgau1.html
     
  6. tecton

    tecton 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    WV
    i wonder if there are any model cars now that have guage pods made for them that would fit or closely fit on our trucks

    i wouldnt mind having one
     

Share This Page