Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

gauges installed

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by wraenking, Mar 9, 2005.

  1. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    well, i got them installed today! the only thing i didnt do was hook up the water tem sender . didnt feel like dropping the fluid.

    i used my new roto zip (thing rocks)!!

    i cut the whole cup from behind the bezel for each gauge, then cut out the 2 plastic pieces behind the bezel only where the gauges were.

    all in all, i like it so far. but it was a pita!!! lol

    gauge.jpg

    gauge1.jpg

    gauge2.jpg

    gauge3.jpg
     
  2. chevy_addict

    chevy_addict 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    You are here, I am not
    Looks great! :thumb:

    I need to do something like that, about how long did it take to cut and mount the gauges?

    Dave
     
  3. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    a couple of days fing around with an old bezel without the right tools.

    about 4 hours today using the new bezel and the roto zip. the thing is awesome!!
     
  4. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,622
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    looks good brother... :D

    wheres the tach going?

    i cut the last pieces for my dash today.. probably get that sucker done in the next, oh, month. :doah: :haha:
     
  5. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    lol. i hear you. i could tell by calling your shop you guys are busy as hell


    i have a sun pro tach mounted under the stereo right now, but i have an automoter im goign to pu in its place.
     
  6. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,622
    Likes Received:
    1,375
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    don't sweat it... my boss is just an ass sometimes.. i yelled at him for being a grump on the phone. :haha:

    and yeah, could be doing 80 hr weeks now if my dinosauric body could take it... wetsanded my fingerprints off today :doah: :woot: got a couple repowers waitin on me too...

    we'll have to hook up for a beer....
     
  7. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    sounds good to me. if your boss is gone one night i could always swing by there. tomorrow ill drop the coolant and finish with the temp gauge, and the do a litlle more :hack: on the front fenders with the roto zip.!
     
  8. AkMudr

    AkMudr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Posts:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alaska
    Looks good. So they fit with the original cluster back there eh? I'll be doin a tranny temp, water and volts in the next few weeks, i think. lol
     
  9. mr_beer

    mr_beer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2004
    Posts:
    325
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mt. hermon LA
    I know what you mean by a PITA, because thats how I put mine in. But its worth it to not have to look down under the dash.

    I pay more attention to my guages now that they are in the dash.
     

Share This Page