Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gauges

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by '73 K5, May 5, 2001.

  1. '73 K5

    '73 K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    OK, when I bought my Blazer the gas gauge didn't work. A couple years later a friend and I junked out a '77 Blazer and I stole the gas gauge from it and put it in my truck. The gauge still didn't fix the problem, but I left it in there anyway. So last week I finally fixed the wire from the sending unit, so the gauge works, but its kinda weird. The needle moves like it should, but when I filled up the tank to full, the gauge was on exactly 1/2 tank. Is there something funky different between my old gauge and the '77 one that is in there? Any way to fix this besides spend $60 on a new gauge?

    '73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad
     
  2. CaptCrunch

    CaptCrunch 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    3,596
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Minnesota
    sounds like the sending units are different... so you could swap sending units... would probably be easier to just find the right guage in a salvage yard IMO.

    [​IMG]
    1987 Chevy K5 Blazer- 350 TBI
     
  3. smp

    smp 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Posts:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    It sounds like the sending unit is bad not the gauge.


    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://WWW.SMP.COLORADOK5.COM>http://WWW.SMP.COLORADOK5.COM</A>
     
  4. '73 K5

    '73 K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    The sending unit was replaced less than a couple years ago, so I'm pretty sure its still good.

    '73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad
     
  5. Grim-Reaper

    Grim-Reaper 3/4 ton status Author

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    7,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    You sure you got the right sending unit? The mount is the same for a 22 and a 31 but the range is different.
    With the wire disconnected I believe it goes full tank. I'm pretty sure thats right . I had a chipmunk or something chew the wire and I recall it showed full tank all the time.

    Diging it in the dirt with my K5's
    Grim-Reaper
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/>http://grimsk5s.coloradok5.com/</A>
     
  6. '73 K5

    '73 K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,763
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Well, that was one of the repairs that I had my mechanic do. I've known him for a longggg time and he's always done really good work for me. I can't really see him putting the wrong one on there, but who knows.
    And yes you're right, when I disconnected the wire the gauge goes to full tank.
    I guess what I need to know is if the '73 and '77 gauges are exactly the same. If they are, then I guess it has to be the sending unit. LMC lists different gas gauges for the two...I just don't know what the differences are.

    '73 K5
    Chevy good...Ford bad
     
  7. Michael

    Michael 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sherman, Texas
    If I'm not completely crazy....your gage should have a little ceramic resistor across the two input terminals. If there is one, take it off and measure it with an ohmmeter. If it is 50 ohms( for example) and your gage reads 1/2 when full....try a 100 ohm in its place. The "real" parts stores used to carry these gage "repair" resistors.

    Michael[​IMG]
    <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.jmartin.net/parker/goose.htm>http://www.jmartin.net/parker/goose.htm</A>
     

Share This Page