Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gear Ratios??

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by bcshaner, Aug 10, 2005.

1. bcshaner

bcshaner Registered Member

Hello
    I am new to this the world of rearends, lol. So my question may seem simple to you but is confusing to me. I have a 89 Blazer, full size, and it has a 10 bolt rear end diff and a 10 bolt front end diff. The rear end diff failed again for the second time. Both times the carrier end supports that hold the bearings, the driver side one broke off and that side of the carrier was no longer supported. After doing a little research I am finding out that this is a common problem with these "light duty" rear ends. My ring gear is stamped with 13 40 and this seems to mean 13 teeth on the pinion and 40 teeth on the ring rear. This appears to give me a ration of 3.076923. Most people i talk to are calling this a 308 ratio?? I guess they are rounding up. It was recommended to me to upgrade to a 12 or 14 bolt rearend so it does not fail again. I purchased a 12 bolt rearend complete and was told it was a 308. When I got it home and took it apart to drain oil before install I noticed these gears are stamped 14 43. This gives me a ratio of 3.0714285. Even though the seller was calling this a 308 it does not have the same ratio as the 10 bolt 13 40. So my question is this: Is it OK to have these two different ratios on a 4x4 or are they close enough? Does GM make a 12 bolt 13 40 that I should use instead? Are these two rear ends both essentially 308's? Hope this has an easy answer and I am just being too picky.
    Thanks, BCshaner :confused:

2. SUBFAN

SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

Those ratios are close enough you will not notice any difference....