Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gear Replacement

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by sickquad, Nov 23, 2003.

1. sickquad

sickquad 1/2 ton status

So, I'm going to replace my gears. I have a 700r4, 203 and I think I am going into the 4's for a ratio. I looked around on the board but came up with nothing for tips on doing this. I work as a machinist so I can indicate parts in. Anybody have any info on this subject for me? Maybe a good link? I have 10 bolt axles.

2. SUBFAN

SUBFAN 1/2 ton status

Let me be the first to suggest the axle swap. Going from 1/2 to 3/4 ton (or better if you get lucky) with the right gears already installed will more than likely be cheaper than upgrading the 10b's.

I am working on the axle swap myself, and have a set with 4.56's installed. I can't comment on how I like it yet, but it certainly has to be an improvement....

3. cwn anwyn

cwn anwyn 1/2 ton status Premium Member

I'll second the swap idea. I had planned on building up my 1/2 ton stuff, but after adding everything up(lockers, upgraded parts etc.) It comes out cheaper to find some axles to swap in and build up. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
    Z

4. sickquad

sickquad 1/2 ton status

You are right on the axles. I have 1 ton setups for the spring. They are going in when I can afford the wheels, tires, lift and brakes for them. That will be the spring. For now I have to get buy with these. Replacing gears is something I would like to do anyways. I refuse to let someone else work on my truck. So, anyone else with some info?

5. jakeslim

jakeslim 1/2 ton status

i did my own gear change for the same reason....i hate to pay someone else. Was not so bad and learned alot.

6. R72K5

R72K5 Banned