Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Gears... huh?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by mike2891, Jul 24, 2005.

1. mike2891

mike2891 Registered Member

At the risk of sounding like a complete moron, i'm going to ask anyways. I'm relatively new to working on 4wd's and building them up.. and I somewhat understand the whole idea of the gear ratio's and whatnot... but honestly I really don't get it all.... I have an 88 blazer how do I know what gears it has & how big of tires I can go without changing a bunch of stuff? Any place I can readup on this stuff? Basically I'm teaching myself everything as I go & I have to honestly say I just don't get it... so any info would be greatly appreciated!!

2. tarussell

tarussell 1/2 ton status

To offer a fairly basic answer , and to help you understand a little better , think of gear ratio's this way .
    The engine turns one full turn than the tranny turns ( I am assuming you have an automatic tranny ) 3.06 times slower.Than the transfer case turns ( assuming low range is selected ) 2.61 times slower,as the driveshft turns the pinion the pinion turns the ring gear and that will be what ever your ring and pinion ratio is ( lets say it is a 3.73 gear ) . The ring gear will turn the differential and the differential turns the axles slower which turn your tires - the differential turns 3.73 slower than the pinion does.
    All the reduction added up together is your crawl ratio.
    Gear reduction is turning slower than the crank shaft and gear overdrive is turning faster than the crankshaft , while a one to one ratio is turning at the same speed as the crankshaft.
    There are factors to consider such as torque converter slip but I am just trying to be very basic so it will be easier to grasp.
    HTH , Tom