Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

general k5 questions regarding tranfer cases and other general concerns

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 74k5inVA, Dec 28, 2001.

1. 74k5inVA

74k5inVA 1/2 ton status

ok, here is my question. I have a 74 k5 blazer, which i am sure some already know b/c of other posts that make no sense. anyways, i just replaced the clutch in this. i can finally go in reverse. i have the full time 4X4. does this mean that i have the NP203 transfer case? i heard that it sucks. if i switched to a NP205 would that be better? how much work involved? i am not completely truck illiterate, but i am also not a master mechanic. my next question is if i switched to a NP205 would it no longer be full time? perhaps what i really need is a general intro into the workings of transfer cases. if i switch what should i do about a tranny? can i keep my same one, will it be iron-clad or should i switch it too? there aren't many rocks to climb where i live, mostly sand and the occasional mud hole, but eventually i would want to tackle rocks too, but not nearly as often as i go to the sand. what should i do next? first clutch, so i can drive, she is street legal now and running with new bfg 35x12.50 all terrains and a 4 inch lift though it looks like a saggy 2 inches. i am going to put a 6' lift on soon so i don't have to fender trim.
    HELP PLEASE and THANKS BUNCHES

2. beater74

beater74 1/2 ton status