Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

gettin a new 4x4 comp cam

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by down4thakrown, Apr 12, 2005.

  1. down4thakrown

    down4thakrown 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    flagstaff,az
    putting one in the new motor, its the 270/274 advertised in/ex. wanted to see if anyone else is runnin this and how they like it, hows it on gettin it through emissions, i was reading up on it and it said somthing about a 2000 stall ? does that mean i have to get a new torque converter or would my stock one be fine??
    thx
     
  2. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    im running the cam one step down from that one, i like it alot. lots of torque and still have power in higher rpms. we don't have emissions here so i couldn't tell you anything on that.

    what tranny you running? certain applications have higher stalls speeds from the factory so you won't need a aftermarket converter.
     
  3. down4thakrown

    down4thakrown 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    flagstaff,az
    turbo 350/205 with 4.10s
    dunno what year its from possibly late 70's
    its goin in a 75 chevy, i know emissions is goin to be a pain i was curious if anybody could get it through with out runnin any additives in the gas?
     
  4. RootBreaker

    RootBreaker 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Posts:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    173
    Location:
    Williamstown, NJ USA
    I failed emmissions then used that guaranteed to pass... $7 for the bottle... passed beautifully the next time :cool1:
     
  5. down4thakrown

    down4thakrown 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    flagstaff,az
    did u put the whole 7 oz in it with a full tank??
    im worried that'll take miles off the motor using it. i used it in my other truck and it seemed to run a little ****ty
     
  6. sled_dog

    sled_dog 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2002
    Posts:
    16,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    being from Pheonix what is your rig? Not a mud runner is it? That camshaft is far too big for a crawler IMHO. That and I don't forsee passing emissions with that camshaft anytime soon. I know in PA my K5 wouldn't pass with a little RV camshaft(much less duration than that cam you have there).
     
  7. down4thakrown

    down4thakrown 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    flagstaff,az
    its an A.T.V. rig. my buddy past with the same camshaft as big83chevy4x4 but, he has the carburated vortec conversion on his 76.why do u say the cam is too big for crawling.would it be cause its more likely to die goin up/down hills??or too much torque??? oh well atleast it will sound cool :pimp:
    guess i'll just have to be quick bout puttin it in neutral and two footin it. i got pretty good at it when my :truck: had a bad carb it died as soon as it got to any incline/decline.
     
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2005
  8. down4thakrown

    down4thakrown 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    1,760
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    flagstaff,az
    guess when u edit somthin it doesnt go to the top :dunno:
     

Share This Page