Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Getting a wheel alignment with dana 60 and 44's

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by mpascino, Nov 15, 2001.

1. mpascino

mpascino 1/2 ton status

Getting a wheel alignment with dana 60 and 44\'s

Anyone ever try to get the moded K5 aligned. I have a dually dana 60 front end that was machineed to fit single wheels and 44" ground hawgs. I do not want to eat my tires up and I get an occasional front end wobble. The only thing left is the alignment. I just don't know what anyone will say when I pull up to a shop with the beast. Any ideas?
    Thanks,
    Mike

The jeep eater ......jeep it's what's for dinner[​IMG]

2. k5blazerus

k5blazerus 1/2 ton status

Re: Getting a wheel alignment with dana 60 and 44\'s

Well I was a allingment tech for a while and for the wobble it almost sounds like a sway bar problem if the bushings are shot and plus 44 tires on a k5 or any rig is going to have a wobble with that big of a tire. I have never done work on a dana 60 but the only advice I can give you is bring it in to a shop and have it aligned and have the toe set on it and I dont think a strait axle dana 60 have camber adjustment un less they want to put shims between the spindal and knuckle and that would be really exspensive. just my opinion.
    colin

Save the whales Harpoon a fat chick.

3. pcorssmit

pcorssmit 1/2 ton status

You may have to put smaller tires on for an alignment, this will be dictated by the heads on the alignment machine. Have the tech set the toe, and ask him if you need to install shims either between the knuckle and spindle or the leaf springs and the axle.

Pete

'83 K5, 350 TBI (ex 6.2), 700R4, NP208, Dana 60/14 bolt, 4.56s, Detroits, 3" lift, 15-39.5x15 TSLs