Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Getting me depressed, what should I do?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Dandwg, Dec 30, 2003.

1. Dandwg

Dandwg 1/2 ton status

Well, i have had my Blazer for about 3 years, I love her to DEATH, but, for the last 6 months she has ben sitting in my driveway. I can not drive g=her because the freaking smog, I got a smog test only registration. Heck, I am not a great mechanic and she needs everything for the smog put back in. She has a Edelbrock 600cfm carb and the stock Quadrajet needs rebuilding. Money, that is what is mainly stopping me. I have a new truck payment and a 1100 rent every month.
    What should I do guys? what would you do? Do I sell her so she gets backon the road with anothers love or wait another 6 months to try to save up some cash?
    [​IMG]

2. SlyDog

SlyDog 1/2 ton status

Definitly keep it! Otherwise I have a feeling your gonna regret it down the road /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif

3. Mastiff

Mastiff 1/2 ton status Premium Member

I'd move out of the PRK (People's Republic of Kalifornia) so you can drive it again! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

Seriously though, what's the history of the truck? Is all the smog stuff ripped out? If so, how was it ever registered in CA before? What happens when you try to smog test it? Don't they have to tell you what smog junk is missing? If so, just keep going back and putting on the thing they failed you for.

I guess it still depends just how broke you are though. It'd be a few hundred I suppose to get the carb rebuilt professionally and to buy the smog stuff you need. I'd keep it and just take my time getting it up to snuff and learning how to do most of it myself.

Good luck.

4. SUBFAN

SUBFAN 1/2 ton status