Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Ginding 4hweel low to High

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 89fullsiz, Mar 28, 2004.

1. 89fullsiz

89fullsiz Registered Member

Just took my Blazer wheeling for the first time. I have to say its a pretty capible vehicle!! I followed a crazy jeep and 4 runner that were going up everything. My stock Blazer followed them just fine on 32's in the mud up the hills everywhere that I could fit (although it got close in some areas) My Truck is COVERED in mud /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

Anyways question is everything works good but when I go from 4wheel low into high it grinds a bit. I don't know if this is normal, if I'm doing something wrong or what I'm TOTALLY new to all of this! I have a 89 Blazer I'm assuming is stock with a 350tbi 241 case and 700r4 tranny.

Is the grinding normal? Not normal but not a big deal? Am I a dumbass and I need to do something special before putting it into 4wheel high???

I'll take pics and post them soon in the garage. Next time were taken the digital video I'll post those on the website /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

2. Blue85

Blue85 Troll Premium Member

This is because of the automatic transmission. In nuetral, there is enough drag in the clutches that the output shaft will spin if there is no load on it. The only sure fire way to avoid the grinding with an auto is to shut off the engine and leave the transmission in nuetral. I'm not sure how "bad" the ginding is but mine has done it dozens of times. I just had it open and all of the gears and sprockets look find.

3. 89fullsiz