Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

give this a look

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by aknight_sa, Nov 20, 2006.

  1. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    these are pics of my roachster q-jet carb on my bb engine

    anyone see any problems in the vacuum hoses on this carb?

    http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/aknight_sa/detail?.dir=1185&.dnm=8684scd.jpg

    in the next pic... what is the difference between the two vacuum ports highlited?
    http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/aknight_sa/detail?.dir=/1185&.dnm=94e7scd.jpg

    in the next pic, what is this port on the intake for???
    http://pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/aknight_sa/detail?.dir=/1185&.dnm=e0dbscd.jpg

    thanks
     
  2. Goose

    Goose 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Central Kansas
    The last pic is a thermostatically controlled vacuum switch.
    I believe its for EGR function.
    Don't know on the first two.
    I have my distributor hooked to the vacuum port closest to the fuel inlet.
    Not sure if it makes a difference.
     
  3. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    if its the EGR... should it be connected somewhere to the carb?

    any help on the second pic?
     
  4. Goose

    Goose 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    South Central Kansas
    Ref the dist. vacuum advance hookup. The main thing is it needs to be a 'ported' vacuum. Meaning it only gets vacuum depending on how wide open the carb is as opposed to the vacuum running to the brake diaphram that has full vacuum.

    It looks like your missing a bunch of the other emissions vacuum lines and t-fitting and stuff so I wouldn't worry about the thermo swithc being hooked up.
    The two vacuum ports you circled would have a lot more vacuum hoses connected if all the emissions was still working.
    Since all of it is tied together (mostly via vacuum hoses), you can't just hook the EGR back up.

    Short answer is don't worry about it unless you have smog laws.
     
  5. aknight_sa

    aknight_sa 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Posts:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia
    what about the missing vacuum lines?? what are they? and what do i connect them to??
     

Share This Page