Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Glow plug cycling

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by Tybee, Dec 9, 2001.

1. Tybee

Tybee 1/2 ton status

My glow plugs cycle real slow, light stays on alot longer during the cycle then it use to. I thought it was the batteries cause one was bad, I bought two new ones today and it still is slow. My voltage gage goes all the way down to about 8 volts. Im thinking it might be a ground issue. Any comments would be helpful.

1984 GMC Jimmy 379 diesel, 700R4, 3.73s, 31x10.50 x 15

2. surg82k5

surg82k5 1/2 ton status

First of all let me tell you i am no expert on the 6.2 but I have one and know its characteristics. I think the glow plugs should stay on about 7sec when you first turn the key to on. once you start the engine they will continue to cycle even after the engine is running, mine sometimes stay on for 5 sec ata time but sometimes shorter. I think that the voltage going down.. means that well your glowplugs are working ok, they really do suck down the juice when they are all working so i think this about normal. My glowplugs sometimes come on even when the engine reaches about 200 Degrees. Now i don't know what that is all about or if that is normal but so far they still all work so until they start burning out i guess i will just go with it. hope this helps a bit or gets you some more responses.. if I can help just reply and I will get back to you
    Sergio

Check out my new website. <a target="_blank" href=http://www.surg82k5.rockcrawler.com>http://www.surg82k5.rockcrawler.com</a>

3. Tybee

Tybee 1/2 ton status

All these things happened within the last month, ive had the truck for over a year now. Thanks foryour response.

4. DieselDan

DieselDan 1/2 ton status