Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Glow Plug Install

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 78 k5, Sep 27, 2005.

1. 78 k5

78 k5 1/2 ton status

I would have posted this in the diesel forum but It doesn't get hit nearly as much as the Garage so here goes.....

I'm a fairly new diesel owner and a complete newb to diesel engine tech. I was having trouble with my 6.2 cold starting, and instead of testing the glow plugs I went out and bought an new redtop and 1 gauge cables. She cranked fine for a week or two and now only cranks during really hot/sunny days, so I figure I have a glow plug problem.
    A. I don't really even know where my glow plugs are. :D
    B. No Idea how to test them
    C. Couldn't remove or replace one to save my life, but I am an average wrencher and have set up gears etc... so I feel I can tackle this with a little guidance.

Does anyone have an EXTREMELY detailed write up the tools needed and the in's and out's of this process? If so post a link and if not anyone feel like writing one???? PLEASE :D

Last edited: Sep 27, 2005
  2. tRustyK5

tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

The glow plugs are where the sprak plugs would be on a small block. They have a single wire going to each with a spade connector. They're so easy to test it's not even funny, and you don't need anything more than a test light and 3 minutes of your time.

Remove the spade connector from the glow plug you want to test. Attach the clip side of your test light to the positive termianl of the battery. Tough the pointy end of the test light to where the spade connector goes on the glow plug. If it lights up it's good. If it doesn't then it is dead.