Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

glow plugs arent glowing...

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by KGsK5, Sep 6, 2006.

  1. KGsK5

    KGsK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Havre de Grace, Maryland
    when i turn my key to accesory mode, when the glow pug light on my dash usually turns on, nothing happens... i thought it was my glow plug relay and i replaced that and it still os doing the same thing. when i turn the key to start, the starter does crank... and also, my dash lights and headlights do work. :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  2. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,166
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Could be the glow plug controller, or a bad temp inhibit switch...

    I swapped mine to manual control a while back, just so much easier.

    Rene
     
  3. KGsK5

    KGsK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Havre de Grace, Maryland
    you just bypassed the glow plug relay and put a switch on your dash?
     
  4. KGsK5

    KGsK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Havre de Grace, Maryland
    alright i did a seach for manual glow plug controllers and found enough info to get me started... ill give it a try tomarow.
     
  5. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    one way to check to make sure you're getting power so you can jump start your glow plugs is to take the wire coming from the positive battery terminal, and touch it against the terminal on the opposite side of teh controller. if it sparks/turns on, you've got power. definitely switch to the manual set up - reliable and more controllable.
     
  6. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,166
    Likes Received:
    1,364
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    If you trace the small blue wire to the controller at the back of the engine...cut it about 6" away from the controller. Then pull it out of the loom and route it to the dash. The energize the GP's that blue wire just needs to be grounded, so you can use a push button switch to accomplish that.

    Upside is you only need to glow as long as is needed...more than what the controller would do or less depending on engine temps. I only use mine to start it cold, after it's even remotely warmed up it'll flash up without the GP's just fine.

    Rene
     
  7. colbystephens

    colbystephens 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    10,924
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Oregon
    same, i usually end up just using the plugs 1 or 2 times a day
     
  8. KGsK5

    KGsK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Posts:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Havre de Grace, Maryland
    thanks a bunch. ill be doing that tomarow and hopefully will have er runnin by this time tomarow evening.
     

Share This Page